Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s Top Ten is books I read last year that were out of my comfort zone. Since I haven’t really read too much outside my comfort zone, I’m changing it slightly to Top Ten books outside my comfort zone I would like to read.

10. how can i help How Can I Help? – David Goldbloom. This is a well-being book about the life of a psychiatrist. It’s a field I have a lot of interest in and it’s supposed to be compassionate and realistic.

9. cuckoo's calling The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith. I don’t do a lot of mystery outside of YA but this one has been on my radar even before I knew it was JK Rowling.

8. nightingale The Nightingale – Kristin Hannah. So many people have told me this is the best book they read last year.

7. open heart open mind Open Heart, Open Mind – Clara Hughes. I haven’t done too many bios in the past but Clara Hughes is a name I not only know, I’ve followed for her career.

6. breaking away Breaking Away – Patrick O’Sullivan. Another bio, this time combining my love of reading with my love of hockey. This seems like an emotional read.

5. hardwired Hardwired – Meredith Wild. I usually stay away from the romance section unless I know there’s a new Abbi Glines or J Lynn that just came out but this one keeps catching my eye when I do go there.

4. magicians The Magicians – Lev Grossman. I keep seeing the previews for the TV show and it looks good.

3. outlander Outlander – Diana Gabaldon. This time I have seen the show and it’s soooo good.

2. the rosie project The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion. I’ve heard the main character described as Sheldon and Penny from The Big Bang Theory, which is enough for me to be interested.

1. black butler Black Butler – Yana Toboso. Manga is really out of my comfort zone and I’m not sure I’ll like it but I do want to give it a try.

17 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, talking books, TBR books, top ten, top ten tuesday, ya books

17 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. The Nightingale is one I would like to read too! And YES – you MUST read the Rosie Project lol. It’s brilliant and fun. My TTT

  2. I have been meaning to read The Rosie Project forever too. It’s one of those that pops up everywhere I go.

  3. Great list! I really want to read The Nightingale and The Magicians too!

  4. ChrissiReads

    I really liked The Rosie Project. I hope that you do too!

  5. The Rosie Project is not the type of book I would read either, but the blurb compelled me to add to my tbr. I think the plot is promising! 🙂

  6. I really liked Outlander! It was a little wordy for me at times but I love Claire and Jamie so it was worth it! Love the show too!

  7. I really, really liked the Magicians! And have been dying to read the Outlander series after falling in love with the show
    Here’s my TTT

  8. Sheldon and Penny from TBBT? Yes please! That’s totally enough for me to want to read the Rosie Project too.

    I haven’t read Black Butler but I’ve watched the anime, and it’s pretty good.

    Great list!
    My TTT if you’re interested. (:

  9. I liked the first episode of The Magicians (haven’t seen more yet), but I didn’t like the first book very much. The main character in the book was pretty annoying, but he seemed less so in the show, so far.

    Check out my TTT.

Leave a comment