Book Review: Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart

Genuine Fraud

Genuine Fraud

Release date:

3.5 stars

The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge. Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat.
Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete.
An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, or maybe two.
A bad romance, or maybe three.
Blunt objects, disguises, blood, and chocolate. The American dream, superheroes, spies, and villains.
A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her.
A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.

I was excited for this book since I enjoyed We Were Liars and this seemed like it could be a good mystery with a twist type of a read. I liked the non-linear storytelling, flashbacks showing the friendship between the two girls and how things escalated to the point where they ended up, and seeing Jule in the present. The characters felt like they were love them or hate them type of characters and I liked some and disliked others.

The novel was very character driven. Jule, the main character, was definitely sketchy in the morals department and had me questioning if I could trust her narrative. That made her interesting and made me want to learn more about her. The supporting cast wasn’t as strong and with less than 300 pages not too many of them got to show a lot of growth.

The main focus was on Jule and the mystery surrounding her. The book was inspired by The Talented Mr Ripley and I definitely saw similarities, to the point where I wasn’t too surprised in regards to a lot of the supposed suspenseful twists. It actually took away a lot of the suspense for me. I do think it’s a book that can be enjoyed by mystery lovers, E. Lockhart fans, and more, it just didn’t grab me in the ways I was hoping it would.

*I received a copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music in exchange for an honest review.

1 Comment

Filed under book-related, books, reviews, talking books, ya books

One response to “Book Review: Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart

  1. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

