Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week is Top Ten things on my reading wish list.

10. Maps in non-fantasy books. I like maps and most fantasy books I’ve read had one inside but rarely do I see a map included in a non-fantasy books. We Were Liars is one that comes to mind of a contemporary with a map and I loved that.

9. Musketeers era. I’m binge watching The Musketeers for a nth time and I would love to see more books set in this time period, or even a YA Musketeers book.

8. Families the reader just can’t help wanting to be a part of. Family goals in books are the best.

7. Multi-POVs. They seem to be becoming more popular but I love getting to see the story from so many different eyes instead of just one or two.

6. Girls being involved in activities considered “boy-ish”. I love when characters take gender norms and flip them so I love when girls are involved in things like science club, mathletes, because they love it and not because of a boy.

5. Paranormal. There’s lots of fantasy and contemporary coming out but I’m finding I’m kind of missing vampires and werewolves right now.

4. Good adaptations. This isn’t really a reading wish list one but I want to keep seeing good adaptations of books. I don’t expect to the letter faithfulness but give the story the respect the fans deserves, make changes that make sense, etc.

3. Mixed genres. I really like seeing a little dystopian in my fantasy or sci-fi.

2. Fandom in my books. This seems to be getting a bit more popular but I loved when the characters are just as geeky as I am.

  1. Duologies. This seems to be becoming the new trilogy and I really love it. For all those times I felt one book wasn’t enough but three stretched it out too much, two is perfect.

 

9 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, talking books, top ten, top ten tuesday, ya books

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I like duologies, too. Your reasons for them are spot on!
    My TTT.

  2. Totally agree on duologies. There are some books where I do think one book is not enough to tell the whole story, but then three books is just WAY too long. Also I love multi POVs too when they’re done right. But it’s kind of confusing/annoying when you have four or five characters but all their voices sound the same.

  3. itsareaderslife

    Great list! I love duologies too because I get fed up by the third book haha! I love multi POVs too. I think David Levithan is really great at teaming up with other authors and doing it. Heres my TTT if you want to check it out😊 https://itsareaderslife.wordpress.com/2017/05/09/top-10-tuesday-reading-wishlift/

  4. I don’t recall reading many duologies, but I’d love to try some out. I love that they don’t need as much commitment as some big series, so even if you don’t enjoy them that much, you can at least get through the series.

Leave a Reply

