Book Review: Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore

image

Wild Beauty

Release date: October 3rd 2017

4.5 stars

For nearly a century, the Nomeolvides women have tended the grounds of La Pradera, the lush estate gardens that enchant guests from around the world. They’ve also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But then, after generations of vanishings, a strange boy appears in the gardens.
The boy is a mystery to Estrella, the Nomeolvides girl who finds him, and to her family, but he’s even more a mystery to himself; he knows nothing more about who he is or where he came from than his first name. As Estrella tries to help Fel piece together his unknown past, La Pradera leads them to secrets as dangerous as they are magical in this stunning exploration of love, loss, and family.

Part of me feels like the only thing to say about this book is Anna-Marie McLemore does it again. I loved her debut The Weight of Feathers. There’s something absolutely magical about her writing and where it transports the reader. I wanted to visit La Pradera, maybe never leave it. It was described so perfectly that it was easy to picture it in my head.

This is one of those types of books where I worry about saying too much in a review because I don’t want to give away even the tiniest plot hint. I loved the characters, I loved the romance, I loved the setting. I didn’t think I would enjoy this one as much as The Weight of Feathers because that one was amazing, but somehow, this one ended up being my favourite of the two. I went in with really high expectations based on The Weight of Feathers and Anna-Marie McLemore managed to not only exceed them, she pole-vaulted over them.

It’s still very early in the year but I have a feeling this one will land on my top ten of 2017.

*I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review*

1 Comment

Filed under book-related, books, favorite book, reviews, talking books, ya books

One response to “Book Review: Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore

  1. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

