February Wrap-Up/ March TBR

We’re now two months into 2017 and I’m loving all the books that are coming out.

February Wrap-Up:

nemesis Nemesis – Brendan Reichs. 3.5/5 stars. I liked the darkness and the twists but it felt a little too uneven in the pacing.

wayfarer Wayfarer – Alexandra Bracken. 4.5/5 stars. Review. I enjoyed this one even more than the first. The addition of new characters plus more focus on characters from the first book were fantastic.

conjurers-riddle The Conjurer’s Riddle – Andrea Cremer. 3/5 stars. Other than the Nightshade series, I’ve had a hard time getting into her books and I just can’t put my finger on why.

kings-cage King’s Cage – Victoria Aveyard. 4/5 stars. Review. I liked this one more than Glass Sword but still less than Red Queen. I did think that, despite the slow pacing, it did move key points of the plot forward and it had some great character moments.

goodbye-days Goodbye Days – Jeff Zentner. 4/5 stars. Review. This book was heartbreaking, terrifying and one to remember.

secret-path Secret Path – Gord Downie and Jeff Lemire. 4/5 stars. This is one I recommend pairing with the CD while reading for the best experience and most impact.

just-another-girl Just Another Girl – Elizabeth Eulberg. 3/5 stars. Review. I really liked the concept of this book but I just couldn’t get into one of the POVs no matter how hard I tried.

heartbeats-of-wing-jones The Heartbeats of Wing Jones – Katherine Webber. 4/5 stars. Review. I loved the dynamics between so many of the characters and the hint of magical realism.

etiquette-and-espionage-big Etiquette & Espionage – Gail Carriger. 3.5/5 stars. I liked this more than I thought I would. It’s a fun read.

piper-perish Piper Perish – Kayla Cagan. 3/5 stars. I found I cared more about the supporting characters than the main character so it made the story a little hard to get into.

strange-the-dreamer Strange the Dreamer – Laini Taylor. 4/5 stars. Review. I loved the magical world and the characters. It is the type of book I find better to read slowly because it’s very intricate and could be easy to get lost if I read too fast.

star-cursed Star Cursed – Jessica Spotswood. 3/5 stars. I think I would have liked it more if I had skimmed through the first book before starting this one. It was so long since I read the first that I got a little lost.

vigilante Vigilante – Kady Cross. 4/5 stars. This was definitely one of those hard to read books that feel so important as you’re reading. It makes a lot of good points that won’t be easy to forget(and shouldn’t be).

curtsies-and-conspiracies Curtsies and Conspiracies – Gail Carriger. 3.5/5 stars. Still a fun series. Lots of action.

queens-of-geek Queens of Geek – Jen Wilde. 4/5 stars. Really cute and easy to relate to. I loved getting to see the two POVs of two girls having very different experiences at the comic convention and loved seeing all the references.

things-i-should-have-known Things I Should Have Known – Claire LaZebnik. 4/5 stars. I absolutely loved the dynamics between the main character and her sister, the two brothers they become friends with, and thought the author did a good job depicting the struggles the main character’s family was going through.

the-guy-the-girl-the-artist-and-his-ex The Guy, the Girl, the Artist, and his Ex – Gabrielle Williams. 3.5/5 stars. This was a really fun book to read and I enjoyed the heist. It crammed a lot into its few pages, maybe at times a little too much.

March TBR:

royal-bastardsupside-of-unrequitedthe-crowns-fatehundred-lies-of-lizzie-lovett

4 Comments

Filed under books, favorite book, reading recap, talking books, TBR books, wrapup, ya books

4 responses to “February Wrap-Up/ March TBR

  1. I’m going to read Things I Should Have Known this month, so I’m excited to see that you liked it! I’ve really liked what I’ve read from Claire LaZebnik in the past, so my hopes were already high.

  2. Wow, you read so many books, go you! I’m listening to King’s Cage now and enjoying it. I’m glad you liked it more than Glass Sword šŸ˜€ Fabulous post!

    Brittany @ Brittany’s Book Rambles

Leave a Reply

