Book Review: Confessions of a High School Disaster by Emma Chastain

Confessions

Confessions of a High School Disaster

Release date: March 7th 2017

3.5 stars

I’m Chloe Snow, and my life is kiiiiind of a disaster.
1. I’m a kissing virgin (so so so embarrassing).
2. My best friend, Hannah, is driving me insane.
3. I think I’m in love with Mac Brody, senior football star, whose girlfriend is so beautiful she doesn’t even need eyeliner.
4. My dad won’t stop asking me if I’m okay.
5. Oh, and my mom moved to Mexico to work on her novel. But it’s fine—she’ll be back soon. She said so.
Mom says the only thing sadder than remembering is forgetting, so I’m going to write down everything that happens to me in this diary. That way, even when I’m ninety, I’ll remember how awkward and horrible and exciting it is to be in high school
.

This book was pitched as Bridget Jones’ Diary for teens, which immediately intrigued me because I really enjoyed those books and movies. I was expecting a quirky main character who made a lot of wrong decisions but ultimately had a good heart and really, just wanted acceptance and love. I can definitely see where the comparisons came from but I do think Chloe stood out on her own.

Chloe, as mentioned, as a very quirky character. She was funny, could be over-dramatic, smart, and after a little while it was easy to see why she would proclaim herself a disaster. Her story was told through her diary entries, sometimes as little as a paragraph and sometimes longer, and no subject was too much for her to talk about. She would make very bad decisions and selfish ones that hurt people but these were lessons learned as she went through her growth arc toward maturing. She wasn’t just dealing with typical high school angst either. She was dealing with an absentee mother at a time when she really needed her the most.

I really liked Chloe’s two best friends and the dynamic of their little group. They were so much fun to read. The book had a lot of interesting supporting characters that really helped the story feel full. Chloe’s mother I really wanted to scream at, more than once. As horrible as her mother was, Chloe’s father was amazing and I loved their relationship.

Overall, the book was very charming and quirky. I think enjoyment of it will depend on how much the reader likes Chloe as a character since the whole book was her diary entries. Chloe was very young but ended up in some more adult situations due to bad decisions making and the book didn’t shy away from the fact that, even at fourteen years old, teens go to parties, drink, get drunk.

The book was a bit predictable and I did suffer some second-hand embarrassment while reading but it was still a cute, quirky book that could be a good recommend for someone looking for a quick read.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under book-related, books, reviews, talking books, ya books

Leave a Reply

