January Wrap-up/February TBR

First wrap-up of the year is here. I can’t decide if January went by too fast or too slow. I got in a lot of reading and it feels surprising that February is here already but at the same time, it feels like January was very long.

January Wrap-Up:

our-own-private-universe Our Own Private Universe – Robin Talley. 3/5 stars. I loved the diversity in this book and that the characters discussed some pretty important and relevant topics but I didn’t really enjoy the main characters’ drama or all their lies.

the-hate-u-give The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas. 5/5 stars! Review. Such an important read and one I won’t be forgetting.

a-list-of-cages A List of Cages – Robin Roe. 4.5/5 stars. Review. I loved that the focus on was the bond between the two boys as friends and former foster brothers instead of pushing it to the back for romance.

allegedly Allegedly – Tiffany D Jackson. 4/5 stars. Review. This one was another one this month that was hard to read because of what the main character was going through.

frost blood Frostblood – Elly Blake. 4/5 stars. Review. There were some slower parts but I really enjoyed the world, the magic, and the characters.

yellow brick war Yellow Brick War – Danielle Paige. 3/5 stars. I started this series on a high and I keep hoping I’ll come back to it but it seems like there’s too much action being packed into such short books.

long may she reign Long May She Reign – Rhiannon Thomas. 4/5 stars. Review. I really liked that this was more science based than magic based and that the main character didn’t suddenly become someone else when she became queen.

beast Beast – Brie Spangler. 3/5 stars. I found this one a little hard to get into, like I was waiting for some more that never came.

blood-for-blood Blood for Blood – Ryan Graudin. 3.5/5 stars. A really good follow up to Wolf by Wolf.

love-and-first-sight Love and First Sight – Josh Sundquist. 3.5/5 stars. Review. It was a cute story and a fast read.

the-wish-granter The Wish Granter – CJ Redwine. 4/5 stars. I loved the darkness and that we followed three different characters and how everything intertwined with each other.

hunted-spooner Hunted – Meagan Spooner. 4/5 stars. Review. Another re-telling with a darkness to it. I loved how capable Yeva was and that we got some little scenes from the Beast’s POV.

blood-rose-rebellion Blood Rose Rebellion – Rosalyn Eves. 3.5/5 stars. Review. This was slower than I expected but still had an interesting magical system and had many scenes to make me get a little emotional.

whos-50 Who’s 50 – Doctor Who. 4/5 stars. It’s Doctor Who. I just wonder why it took me so long to read it when it’s been on my shelf forever.

inventors-secret-big The Inventor’s Secret – Andrea Cremer. 3/5 stars. I found it a little hard to get into this one but it may have been because I read it with a lot of people around. It intrigued me enough to give the sequel a chance.

youre-welcome-universe You’re Welcome, Universe – Whitney Gardner. 4/5 stars Review coming. I loved all the descriptions of art and how the main character connected to hers.

Caraval Caraval – Stephanie Garber. 4.5/5 stars. Review coming. Fell in love with this one right from the start. So excited to see where it goes from here.

breakfast served anytime Breakfast Served Anytime – Sarah Combs. 3/5 stars. Another one I had a hard time getting into. The synopsis made me think it would be a “me” book but it just wasn’t.

February TBR:

wayfarerstrange-the-dreamerheartbeats-of-wing-joneskings-cage

2 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, favorite book, reading recap, talking books, TBR books, wrapup, ya books

2 responses to “January Wrap-up/February TBR

  1. You had a great reading month!!! I’m definitely looking forward to Kings Cage this month!! And I pre ordered Strange the Dreamer ๐Ÿ™‚ I also have Long May She Reign, Hunted and Caraval all on my TBR!

  2. Wow, you read so many amazing books lately! I’m glad you also enjoyed Frostblood and Caraval–two of my favorites ๐Ÿ˜€ Awesome post!

    Brittany @ Brittany’s Book Rambles

Leave a Reply

