Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s topic is Top Ten underrated gems I’ve read in the last year or so. I chose underrated to mean under 3000 Goodreads ratings and nothing within the last three months.

10. 9780399175411_OutrunTheMoon_BOM.indd Outrun the Moon – Stacey Lee. I loved Mercy Wong, her will power, her “bossy” cheeks, and everything about her.

9. girl who fell The Girl Who Fell – Shannon M Parker. This book was terrifying in the way such a good, smart girl got involved with the wrong guy and how easily he manipulated her.

8. love and other unknown variables Love and Other Unknown Variables – Shannon Lee Alexander. I fell in love with these characters and they broke my heart.

7. front lines Front Lines – Michael Grant. This idea of an alternate history where girls where allowed to join to fight really intrigued me and it delivered.

6. hot it feels to fly How It Feels To Fly – Kathryn Holmes. I got so invested in these kids’ stories and I wanted to see them heal.

5. lies about the truth The Lies About Truth – Courtney C Stevens. Sadie’s growth through this book was a huge highlight of my reading year.

4. don't touch Don’t Touch – Rachel M Wilson. Caddie’s story was one I could relate to and found very memorable.

3. me since you big Me Since You – Laura Weiss. This is has stayed with me since I read it and I don’t see it going away any time soon.

2. georgia peaches Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit – Jaye Robin Brown. I really liked the balancing the main character did through this book between her faith, being herself, and compromising to get her voice heard.

1. shutter Shutter – Courtney Alameda. I loved how creepy this book was. It was like watching one of the scarier episodes of Supernatural.

6 Comments

Filed under books, top ten, top ten tuesday, ya books

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I’ve only read Shutter on your list and really liked it. I really need to get on the ball and read the rest of these gems.

  2. I have not read any of these. I’m going to have to add them to my TBR. Some look so good!
    My TTT.

  3. I have Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit on my reading wishlist!! I’ll have to grab a copy of it.

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2017/01/top-ten-tuesday-ten-underratedhidden.html

  4. Front Lines and The Girl Who Fell are both on my TBR, glad to hear you liked them!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/17/top-ten-tuesday-92/

  5. I bought “Shutter” mostly because of its amazing cover but really enjoyed it a lot. It didn’t really scare me (like most of the YA horror books) but it was definitely an exciting read! 🙂

    I’m also glad to see “Front Lines” on your list, this book has been on my shelves for ages now and I still haven’t managed to read it. Your recommendation is a good motivation to finally do so! 😉

  6. Yes, Shutter was so good! Definitely great for fans of Supernatural! 🙂

    Lauren @ Always Me

Leave a Reply

