Book Review: By Your Side by Kasie West

by-your-side

By Your Side

Release date: January 31st 2017

4 stars

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.
Only he doesn’t come. No one does.
Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Kasie West has definitely become one of my go-to contemporary authors when I need a pick me up book and this book was no exception to that. It was cute, light, addicting to read, and was a lot of fun. It had everything I love from a Kasie West novel and will definitely be added to my collection when it comes out in physical form.

Autumn was a character I found very easy to relate to. She had anxiety and kept it from her friends in fear of being judged, even though it meant they ended up getting used to her disappearing on them. Miscommunication led to her being left at the library when the group was leaving in a few separate cars and Autumn was locked in for the long weekend. I liked that she tried to keep her head in the situation and how concerned she was that her friends and parents would worry once they discovered her missing. She could be snarky and sarcastic just as easily as loyal and caring.

I really enjoyed the time Autumn was trapped in the library, going back and forth with fellow trappee Dax. It seemed like they would make some progress on getting along and then take two steps back because she wanted to know more about him and he didn’t want to tell her. They were very opposite but they fit well together. I did like the boy Autumn had been flirting with before, Jeff, but I was definitely pulling for her and Dax.

The book was full of great supporting characters. Autumn and her brother Owen had so many scenes that had me laughing until there were tears in my eyes. Jeff’s best friend could make me annoyed at him just as easily as making me feel for him. The friendship between Autumn and her best friend Lisa was amazing.

I thought Kasie West did a great job in handling both Autumn’s and Dax’s stories, separately and together, and it made for a great read.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

3 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, favorite book, reviews, talking books, ya books

3 responses to “Book Review: By Your Side by Kasie West

  1. I’m so glad you liked this book! Kasie West is one of my go-to authors as well, and I loved all the books of hers that I’ve read. I can’t wait to read this one! Great review!💗

  2. Wonderful review! I haven’t read anything by Kasie West, but I think this is the book I’d like to start with. It sounds really fun and cute, and of course Dax intrigues me because he’s all aloof and whatnot. Thanks for the review!

    – Lefty @ The Left-Handed Book Lover

  3. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

