December Wrap-Up/January TBR

2016 is finally over! It definitely felt like it wasn’t going to end. Now we have a whole new year of books and hopefully a better year to look forward to.

December wrap-up:

mosquitoland Mosquitoland – David Arnold. 3.5/5 stars. Mostly I enjoyed this story but there was something that I still can’t identify keeping me from getting sucked into the plot completely.

girls-in-the-moon Girls in the Moon – Janet McNaly. 4/5 stars. Review. I really enjoyed the growth in the main girl and the fact that it was two separate timelines moving in two different directions.

vassa-in-the-night Vassa in the Night – Sarah Porter. 3.5/5 stars. Review. This was very unusual but mostly in a good way.

rose-under-fire-big Rose Under Fire – Elizabeth Wein. 4/5 stars. Elizabeth Wein never disappoints in her historical fiction.

secret-of-a-heart-note The Secret of a Heart Note – Stacey Lee. 4.5/5 stars. Review. I fell in love with this super cute, Practical Magic-esque book.

moon-chosen Moon Chosen – PC Cast. 3/5 stars. It seems like this could turn into a good series. I wasn’t completely sold on this one, it was a little slow and predictable, but it has potential.

silver stars Silver Stars – Michael Grant. 4/5 stars. Review. This was a great follow-up to Front Lines. It pushed character arcs ahead, pushed the plot ahead, and didn’t feel like it dragged even with it being so long.

da-vincis-tiger Da Vinci’s Tiger – LM Elliott. 3/5 stars. I was really intrigued by the storyline before I started but I had a hard time getting into the story. It was easy to tell that the author really likes history from the book and I did appreciate that.

mad-wicked-folly A Mad, Wicked, Folly – Sharon Biggs Walker. 3/5 stars. I wasn’t a huge fan of the main character so it made the book hard to get into.

carve-the-mark Carve the Mark – Veronica Roth. 4/5 stars. Review. This book took a little to get into but I really liked the growth the two main characters showed and the relationship they formed with each other.

velvet-underground Velvet Undercover – Teri Brown. 3/5 stars. I was expecting lots of twists and surprises but didn’t really get any. It ended up being predictable.

born-of-illusion Born of Illusion – Teri Brown. 3/5 stars. I really liked the concept and the setting. The main character could be frustrating, which took me out of the story a few times, but it was a good read.

born-of-deception Born of Deception – Teri Brown. 3/5 stars. I didn’t end up enjoying this one as much as the first. The main character felt so different from the first book and not in a good way.

not-your-manic-pixie-dream-girl I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl – Gretchen McNeil. 3.5/5 stars. There were times when Bea, the main character, reminded me of Charlie from the TV show Numb3rs(love it) and I enjoyed her growth through the book. A very cute read.

invasion of the tearling The Invasion of the Tearling – Erika Johansen. 4/5 stars. I don’t venture outside of YA much and this one isn’t much of a departure from it(it’s in the Fantasy section at my bookstore). This series is one I’m glad I gave a chance to because it’s so amazing. Great characters, great world-building, so easy to get sucked in.

fate-of-the-tearling The Fate of the Tearling – Erika Johansen. 4/5 stars. After finishing the second one, I had to jump straight into this one. I had to!

rose-and-the-dagger The Wrath and the Dawn – Renee Ahdieh. 4/5 stars. I loved the first book and this follow-up did not disappoint. Even though I read the first one so long ago, it wasn’t hard to get sucked back into this world.

by-your-side By Your Side – Kasie West. 4/5 stars. Kasie West never disappoints and this book about a girl getting trapped in the library with a cute boy was so cute and perfect to close out the year.

January TBR:

the-hate-u-givefrost blooda-list-of-cagesallegedly

Leave a comment

Filed under book lists, book-related, books, reading recap, talking books, TBR books, wrapup, ya books

Leave a Reply

