Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s topic is Top Ten books to read if your book club likes X. I chose to do Top Ten books to read if your book club likes books that tackle hard subjects.

10. meet you there I’ll Meet You There – Heather Demetrios. I love all Heather Demetrios’ books but this one stood out for the way it tackled PTSD.

9. inside of out The Inside of Out – Jenn Marie Thorne. I think this is one that could cause some debates in a book club. The main character wants to be vocally supportive of her best friend coming out but is so loud her friend’s voice isn’t heard.

8. rites of passage Rites of Passage – Joy N Hensley. Not only is the main character very badass, this book is great for showing girls are just as capable as boys.

7. unwind big Unwind – Neal Shusterman. Not only is this one of my favourite series, it would bring up a lot of good book club questions with how this world works.

6. all-we-have-left All We Have Left – Wendy Mills. This one really touched me and I think it would touch a lot of book clubs members as well. Plus I actually know someone using this as a book club book this month;)

5. symptoms of being human Symptoms of Being Human – Jeff Garvin. This one is such an important book and deals with a subject a haven’t seen a lot of in books yet.

4. let's get lost big Let’s Get Lost – Adi Alsaid. I know this one has gotten mixed reviews but that seems like even more of a reason to pick it. With 5 different POVs from 5 very different characters, it should be easy to find some points to debate on.

3. made you up Made You Up – Francesca Zappia. There’s so much a book club could get out of this book.

2. Uninvited big Uninvited – Sophie Jordan. How much does DNA play into who a person is and what they will do? This book tackles that.

1. all the bright places All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven. This one destroyed me and I’m not sure if a book club would be us talking about this book or sitting around crying and trying to comfort each other.

4 Comments

Filed under books, top ten, top ten tuesday, ya books

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I like this topic! And I haven’t read any of these books, so I’ll have to add some to my TBR!
    My TTT.

  2. Ooh there are some on here that I’m really intrigued by!

  3. Curious Daisy

    I never did read Made you Up though I’m still interested in it because of the gorgeous cover 😀 http://www.curious-daisy.com/wrap-up/october-wrap-up-reading-life-work-update-nanowrimo-plans/

  4. I have I’ll Meet You There as well as Symptoms of Being Human on my must-reads list- after reading your comments, I’m looking even more forward to get them! Love the variety on your Top Ten list 🙂

Leave a Reply

