Book Review: Pushing Perfect by Michelle Falkoff

pushing-perfect

Pushing Perfect

Release date: October 25th 2016

3 stars

How far would you go to be perfect?
Kara has the perfect life. She gets perfect grades. She never messes up. Until now. Because perfection is an illusion, and Kara has been struggling to maintain it for as long as she can remember. With so much pressure to succeed, it’s hard not to do whatever it takes.
But when Kara takes a new underground drug to help her ace the SATs, she doesn’t expect to get a text from a blocked sender, telling her to follow a set of mysterious instructions—or risk her dark secret getting out. Soon she finds herself part of a group of teens with secrets of their own, who are all under the thumb of the same anonymous texter. And if they don’t find a way to stop the blackmailer, their perfect futures will go up in flames.

This book caught my interest because I enjoyed the author’s other book I’d read “Playlist for the Dead” and because it seemed like the type of book that could have a lot of twists and turns that would surprise me. The beginning pulled me in but the more I read, the more I found myself able to predict what would be happening.

Kara was an interesting character. The book was told from her POV and we got to see her struggling with maintaining her perfect image. She had a hard time dealing with the pressure of her parents, of high school, and the expectations she had for herself. It caused anxiety and she needed some help in order to get through her SAT test, which led her to taking some pills to calm her nerves and where the main plot of the book started.

I liked the supporting characters that the mystery brought in. It felt like they were going for a bit of a ‘How to get Away with Murder’ vibe, which I will always fully support. I liked the dynamics between them, which pairings could be trusted, which ones were more tentative. Their group and the banter and friendship was my favourite part of the story.

The mystery was a little too predictable for me. Maybe it’s because I watch so many shows that like to throw twists in at every random moment so I’m always expecting it, but I found the whole blackmail and the person behind it to be exactly who I was expecting it to be. The ending seemed a little rushed and maybe a little too easily tied up but I could deal with that since the characters all seemed to learn something from the whole mystery.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

2 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, reviews, talking books, ya books

2 responses to “Book Review: Pushing Perfect by Michelle Falkoff

  1. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

  2. Pingback: October Wrap-up/November TBR | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

