Book Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

sun-is-also-a-star

The Sun is Also a Star

Release date: November 1st 2016

4 stars

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.
Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.
The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

As a huge fan of Nicola Yoon’s previous book, Everything, Everything, I was really excited for this one. The cover is very eye-catching and I really can’t wait to see what it looks like on the finished book. I liked the idea of the girl being the character with an interest in science and not believing in love at first sight while the guy was the artistic one who fell completely in love with a look.

The book was told in the alternating POVs of Natasha and Daniel. Both were going through hard times and could use a friend who would just listen. Natasha’s family was about to be deported and she was throwing a hail mary in order to hopefully get to stay. Daniel was supposed to be interviewing for a recommendation for Yale but had no interest in following his parents’ plans for him. I liked both characters pretty equally. They both had parts of their personalities I could identify with and I could see what was drawing them together, even with them being so different.

I really liked that the book would go off for a page or so at a time, every once and a while, to show the fate or back story of a supporting character. This was probably my favourite part of the book since I’m often left wondering about the supporting characters, what made them so bitter or did that couple ever get together. It was a really nice addition and it also really highlighted how what seemed like a simple meeting could end of having such a different affect on two people.

It was a quick read, which I was expecting since the book mostly took place all within the same day. I was glad to see some character growth worked in during such a short time. It could be a great book to read outside on a nice summer day or curled up during a rain or snowstorm with a blanket and a hot chocolate. It would work well either way.

It was a very different book from Everything, Everything but I found it just as enjoyable.

*I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review*

4 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, reviews, talking books, ya books

4 responses to “Book Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

  1. Great review! I’m looking forward to reading this.💁🏻

  2. I’m so excited for this book. Glad you enjoyed it!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

  4. Pingback: October Wrap-up/November TBR | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

