Book Review: The Fever Code by James Dashner

the-fever-code

The Fever Code

4 stars

Once there was a world’s end.
The forests burned, the lakes and rivers dried up, and the oceans swelled.
Then came a plague, and fever spread across the globe. Families died, violence reigned, and man killed man.
Next came WICKED, who were looking for an answer. And then they found the perfect boy.
The boy’s name was Thomas, and Thomas built a maze.
Now there are secrets.
There are lies.
And there are loyalties history could never have foreseen.
This is the story of that boy, Thomas, and how he built a maze that only he could tear down.
All will be revealed.

I’ve been anticipating this book since I first heard about it. Finally we would get to see the Gladers before they were brought into the maze and learn more about The Purge. I was excited to see the characters I fell in love with during the series again and also to see how their pre-maze/pre-memory wipe personalities matched up to their Maze Runner personalities.

This was a book that I didn’t really know I needed added to the series until I was reading it. I was excited when it was announced and couldn’t wait to read it, but once I was reading it, it was like ‘this is a perfect fit’. I got to fall in love with my favourite character all over again and it was great.

I also loved that, even though this was a prequel and we already knew the end results from The Maze Runner, there were still surprises in store. There were some actual jaw dropping moments, some completely laugh out loud moments, and some “who’s cutting onions and making me cry” moments. Overall, it wasn’t just a great addition to the series. It was the perfect one.

8 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, reviews, talking books, ya books

8 responses to “Book Review: The Fever Code by James Dashner

  1. Sounds great! Glad to hear you were so happy with the prequel to a series you love 🙂

  2. omg i actually just got this book! I loved the maze runner series and the movies were really cool too! I can’t wait to start it! Nice review! 🙂

  3. Does it answer all the questions?

  4. Great review! I originally wasn’t going to read this one but I may now!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

  6. Pingback: October Wrap-up/November TBR | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

