Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling

cursed child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

5 stars

I knew going into this book that it would likely have a different feel than the original series. It was in a script format and all the characters I grew up loving were now adults. The script format didn’t bother me but it did mean having to use more imagination(not a hardship) since we weren’t seeing into any of the characters’ heads or their facial expressions.

The new characters introduced, the main ones being the sons of Harry and Ginny, and Draco and his wife, Albus and Scorpius were adorable. Especially Scorpius. Yes, I’m calling a Malfoy adorable and that’s something I never thought would happen so point for this book. I liked their friendship and there were times the two of them reminded me of Harry and Ron as a kids. That best friend who’s more like a brother, who you fight with, get annoyed with, but always care about.

It was a little weird reading about Harry, Ron, and Hermione as adults. There were a few glimpses into their old personalities but they were also very different. They had grown up. They had kids. They had jobs. They were adults. I do wish we had gotten to see more of The Golden Trio as a trio, and especially more of Harry and Ron’s friendship. It was one of my favourite things about the series and I will never get tired of it.

There were a few times when it did feel a little rushed but it wasn’t in ways that hurt my enjoyment of it. At the end of the day, it’s a book of a script based on the rehearsals of the play so I kept that in mind while I was reading. The final play(and hopefully final book) will have ironed out the issues. I’m just glad they decided to put out this script version for all of us who can’t afford to go see the play. This way we have something.

6 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, favorite book, reviews, talking books, ya books

6 responses to “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling

  1. Great review! I had a few issues with it but overall I enjoyed it.

  2. I love Scorpius! You just can’t not love him. I can see how some people felt it was fan fictiony but I liked seeing the different ways that their lives could have played out too!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

