July Wrap-up/August TBR

I will admit, it was hard to concentrate on anything this last week due to Harry Potter and the Cursed Child coming out. I still read but it seemed to take a little more to get me drawn into a book.

July Wrap-up:

finding abbey road Finding Abbey Road – Kevin Emerson. 3/5 stars. Review. The series seemed to get further and further away from what I enjoyed in the first book as it went on.

way to game the walk of shame The Way to Game the Walk of Shame – Jenn P Nguyen. 4/5 stars. Review. It was really cute and quirky and I really enjoyed it.

this is what happy looks like This is What Happy Looks Like – Jennifer E Smith. 3/5 stars. This one was cute but I didn’t feel a connection to it like I have her other books.

shuffle repeat Shuffle, Repeat – Jen Klein. 3.5/5 stars. Review. Another light and quirky book that was perfect for the summer, even though it was set during the school year.

two summers Two Summers – Aimee Friedman. 3/5 stars. This was another one that was a good summer read but I found it hard to connect with the story and characters.

every exquisite thing Every Exquisite Thing – Matthew Quick. 3.5/5 stars. I think my expectations were too high going into this one after Silver Linings Playbook so it ended up falling a bit short.

bad decisions playlist The Bad Decisions Playlist – Michael Rubens. 2.5/5 stars. Review. I was really excited about this one but it ended up disappointing. I didn’t like the characters and it was predictable.

wicked games Wicked Games – Sean Olin. 3/5 stars. The concept made me interested in picking this one up but it fell flat in all aspects.

reckless  hearts Reckless Hearts – Sean Olin. 2.5/5 stars. I was hopeful that I would like this one more than the first in the series but….no such luck.

seven black diamonds Seven Black Diamonds – Melissa Marr. 4/5 stars. Review. This was another one where the concept really interested me and the execution, thankfully, was good. This ended up being my favourite Melissa Marr book so far.

prey The Prey – Tom Isbell. 2/5 stars. Unfortunately another book that ended up being a great concept that I didn’t connect with. I just didn’t really care about the characters.

with malice With Malice – Eileen Cook. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I really liked the different formats Eileen Cook used to tell this story.

thousandth floor The Thousandth Floor – Katharine McGee. 4/5 stars. Review. This was like a futuristic Gossip Girl meets Unrivaled. I really enjoyed it.

the capture The Capture – Tom Isbell. 2.5/5 stars. It improved slightly on the first book but it’s a series I’m mostly reading because I hate not finishing series.

under the lights Under the Lights – Abbi Glines. 4/5 stars. Review. This series gets more and more addicting as it goes on.

Walk-the-Edge-cover-1 Walk the Edge – Katie McGarry. 4/5 stars. Review coming. Another series that keeps getting more addicting as more books come out.

Let the wind rise Let the Wind Rise – Shannon Messenger. 3/5 stars. This is a series where I read the second book to not give up on the series but the third book makes me glad I stuck with it.

georgia peaches Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit – Jaye Robin Brown. 4/5 stars. Review coming. Absolutely loved the main character even when she was being a pain in the ass. Full of quirky characters.

cursed child Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – JK Rowling. 5/5 stars. After all this time? Like it was going to be anything but 5 stars!

August TBR:

rose societydiplomatic immunitythree dark crownsfemale of the species

1 Comment

Filed under book lists, book-related, books, favorite book, reading recap, talking books, TBR books, wrapup, ya books

One response to “July Wrap-up/August TBR

  1. thegrishalieutenant

    You got so much reading done, I’m so jealous!

Leave a Reply

