Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s topic is Top Ten books set outside the US that I’ve enjoyed.

10. written in the stars Written in the Stars – Aisha Saeed. Most of this book was set in Pakistan, which is a setting I hadn’t read in any other YA book. It was written so beautifully and included so much culture.

9. tiger's curse Tiger’s Curse – Colleen Houck. This book starts off in the US but the setting quickly moves to India where the main character is trying to break a curse to free a prince. It’s a slower read due to all the descriptions and world-building but it was good.

8. clockwork angel big Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare. Not only is this one set outside the US, it’s also set in the past. I fell in love with these characters.

7. anna big Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins. One of my favourite contemporaries to pick up any time I need a little pick me up. Set mostly in Paris.

6. prisoner big Prisoner of Night and Fog – Anne Blankman. Another one that’s also set in the past, much of this one takes place is Germany. I fell completely in love with the story of this girl who views Hitler as an uncle and who slowly realizes his views are not right.

5. Anne Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery. This book is actually set in the province where I grew up so I have a huge soft spot for it.

4. die for me big Die for Me – Amy Plum. The first book was by far my favourite in the series. It got me completely addicted.

3. isla Isla and the Happily Ever After – Stephanie Perkins. Back to the world of Anna and the French Kiss, this was my favourite. It was a great way to wrap everything up and Isla and Josh became my favourite couple.

2. between shades of gray Between Shades of Gray – Ruta Sepetys. I don’t think there’s anyone who can make me cry so easily as Ruta Sepetys.

1. book thief The Book Thief – Markus Zusak. Not sure if I can describe it in any way other than: amazing!

4 Comments

Filed under book lists, book-related, books, favorite book, talking books, top ten, top ten tuesday, ya books

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Great choices! I especially love The Book Thief. It’s been getting a lot of love today. 🙂

    Here are some of the books I’ve read outside the US: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/07/19/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-set-outside-the-u-s/

  2. Cool list of books! I haven’t read any of them… Although, I’ve heard of many of the titles you’ve mentioned in your post! I want to read Letters From Skye.

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2016/07/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-set-outside-us.html

  3. bftreviews

    I love the Tiger’s Curse series and I’m glad someone else put them on their list this week! 🙂 Great list!

    My TTT

  4. Clockwork Angel and The Book Thief are both on my list as well. Great picks!

    Check out my TTT.

Leave a Reply

