Book Review: The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P Nguyen

way to game the walk of shame

The Way to Game the Walk of Shame

4 stars

Taylor Simmons is screwed.
Things were hard enough when her single-minded dedication to her studies earned her the reputation of being an Ice Queen, but after getting drunk at a party and waking up next to bad boy surfer Evan McKinley, the entire school seems intent on tearing Taylor down with mockery and gossip.
Desperate to salvage her reputation, Taylor persuades Evan to pretend they’re in a serious romantic relationship. After all, it’s better to be the girl who tames the wild surfer than just another notch on his surfboard.

Going into this book, I wasn’t fully prepared for just how cute it would be and how much I would be smiling and giggling while I was reading it. I loved the friendships, the family dynamics, and all the banter between Taylor and Evan. I was worried it might be a little too chick-flick-esque but it took everything I love about those movies and gave it to me with adorable characters.

The book was told in the dual POVs of Taylor and Evan and it worked really well. I loved seeing how different they were and how they changed through the book. Taylor was the super-organized girl who had been working toward attending Columbia for years and when she was wait-listed, she went to a party to take her mind off it. Evan was the popular, surfer boy who barely attended class and did everything he could to piss off his new step-father. It was the bad boy-good girl cliche and I loved it. They fit so well together and they brought out the best in each other. They helped each other, first as friends, through their issues, and it was so obvious that they were beginning to care for each other as more than just friends.

None of the supporting characters felt one-dimensional. There were some that were more developed and present than others but they all had their own quirks and personalities. They were fun to read and added to the story without taking anything away from the main characters.

I liked that the book stayed on the more light and fluffy side. There were times when it could have headed down a more serious, heavy road but staying on the lighter side kept it a fun read and kept a smile on my face. I was wondering at first if I would get into their relationship since I couldn’t see what Evan would get from it but it all came together and I really enjoyed the ‘business partners’ to friends to potential lovers plot.

3 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, favorite book, reviews, talking books, ya books

3 responses to “Book Review: The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P Nguyen

  1. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

  2. Kim

    Gah, I need this book in my life! And I didn’t know that it’s a dual POV so that’s definitely a bonus! It’s sad that it didn’t get serious at the right points, but it feels like the perfect read to relax to. Great review! 🙂

    Kim @ Divergent Gryffindor: BLOG || VLOG

  3. Pingback: July Wrap-up/August TBR | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

