Book Review: Shiny Broken Pieces by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

shiny broken pieces

Shiny Broken Pieces

Release date: July 12th 2016

3 stars

June, Bette, and Gigi have given their all to dance at Manhattan’s most elite ballet school. Now they are competing one final time for a spot at the prestigious American Ballet Company. With the stakes higher than ever, these girls have everything to lose…and no one is playing nice.
June is starting to finally see herself as a prima ballerina. However, getting what she wants might cost her everything—including the only boy she’s ever loved. Legacy dancer Bette is determined to clear her name after she was suspended and accused of hurting her rival, Gigi. Even if she returns, though, will she ever regain the spotlight she craves? And Gigi is not going to let Bette—or the other dancers who bullied her—go unpunished. But as revenge consumes her, Gigi may be the one who pays the price.
After years of grueling auditions, torn ribbons, and broken hearts, it all comes down to this last dance. Who will make the cut? And who will lose her dream forever?

I was really looking forward to this book considering the first book surprised me with how much I ended up enjoying it and which how the first book ended, I had a few theories and really wanted to know if I’d come close. The book was told in the same three POVs as the first and started in the fall again. Gigi had recovered from her accident in the first book, Bette was at home with everyone’s fingers pointing at her, and June was still struggling with weight issues. I actually found myself surprisingly pulled toward Bette in this book even though she was horrible in the first.

Gigi was my favourite in the first book, and as the underdog and bullying victim, she was supposed to be. In this sequel, she quickly became my least favourite. She proved to be no better than the people who tormented her. June, I think if I’d felt a stronger connection to her in the first book I would have enjoyed her storyline more in this one. There were times I felt a connection forming but then the POV would change and it would be lost. Bette was the one I was set to continue disliking but she was the one who was showing that she was growing for the better. There were definitely some stumbles but she was growing.

My biggest problem was that the one theory I had that I didn’t want to be right, ended up being right. I was hoping it would be wrong because it felt cliche and a little bit of an easy way out. Once things starting to head in that direction, my enjoyment started to lessen. After that, it felt like I was reading just to finish it, just to see if there would be something shocking, some twist I wasn’t expecting, but it never came.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

2 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, reviews, talking books, ya books

2 responses to “Book Review: Shiny Broken Pieces by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

  1. I can’t wait for this book! I loved the first book! Great review 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

