June Wrap-up/July TBR

Overall, it was a good reading month. Some really great books in here, and some just decent ones. Today’s Canada Day so Happy Canada Day to all my fellow Canucks!

June Wrap-Up:

cure for the common universe Cure for the Common Universe – Christina McKay Heidicker. 3/5 stars. Review. I think not being into gaming hurt my enjoyment of this book.

ivory and bone Ivory & Bone – Julie Eshbaugh. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I wasn’t sure how much I would like a gender-bent prehistoric Pride and Prejudice but I ended up enjoying it.

just one year Just One Year – Gayle Forman. 3.5/5 stars. I had a harder time connecting with these characters than with Mia and Adam but I still liked this duology.

marked girl The Marked Girl – Lindsey Klingele. 4/5 stars. Review. It almost lost me when it first shifted to LA but it pulled me back pretty quickly.

we are the ants We Are the Ants – Shaun David Hutcherson. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I like books that can keep me guessing as to what’s real and what’s not.

keep The Keep – Veronica Wolff. 3.5/5 stars. I was really enjoying this series when I first started it but I’m glad I took a break before coming back. I feel like I enjoyed it a lot more than I would have if I read it when I was getting a little tired of vampire books.

inside of out The Inside of Out – Jenn Marie Thorne. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I didn’t enjoy this one as much as The Wrong Side of Right but it was still good and made an impression.

life after theft Life After Theft – Aprilynne Pike. 3/5 stars. It didn’t suck me in and I had a hard time feeling anything for the main character.

the lost and found The Lost & Found – Katrina Leno. 3/5 stars. Review. I really liked the characters but I felt like I was always waiting for something more and it never came.

season for fireflies A Season of Fireflies – Rebecca Maizel. 3/5 stars. Review. It was a great concept but it lacked some depth with the friendships and characters.

what happens now What Happens Now – Jennifer Castle. 3/5 stars. Review coming. A good summer read that went a little too fast with the development.

shiny broken pieces Shiny Broken Pieces – Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton. 3/5 stars. Review coming. I really liked the first book but this second one fell really flat. Too many characters got raw deals and it felt like they were trying to be unpredictable, which just made them even more predictable.

winning Winning – Lara Deloza. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I was surprised at how much I ended up rooting for the mean girl character by the end. She was just so complex and fun to read.

9780399175411_OutrunTheMoon_BOM.indd Outrun the Moon – Stacey Lee. 4.5/5 stars. Review. So good! Mercy was one of my favourite heroines so far this year.

between the devil and the deep blue sea Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea. 3/5 stars. April Genevieve Tucholke. I think this book just wasn’t for me. I had a hard time getting into it and reading it for any length of time.

secrets lies Secrets, Lies, and Scadals – Amanda K Morgan. 3.5/5 stars. Review coming. Surprisingly addicting. I definitely see where the How to Get Away with Murder comparisons came from.

autofocus Autofocus – Lauren Gibaldi. 3.5/5 stars. Review coming. There were times when I was completely absorbed into the story and others when it felt like I was just reading it.

glow Glow – Amy Kathleen Ryan. 2/5 stars. This just wasn’t for me. I didn’t enjoy the characters and it felt slow.

star touched queen The Star-Touched Queen – Roshani Chokshi. 3.5/5 stars. Review coming. This is one I’m glad I stuck with. It got more addicting the longer I read.

July TBR:

finding abbey roadunder the lightsridersshuffle repeat

6 Comments

Filed under book lists, book-related, books, favorite book, reading recap, talking books, TBR books, ya books

6 responses to “June Wrap-up/July TBR

  1. Nice reading month you had. Outrun the Moon definitely caught my attention.

  2. That is quite a lot of reading you did this month! Good for you!! I am planning on reading Riders this month too!

  3. You have a great month! I need to read Outrun the Moon. It is getting such good reviews! šŸ˜€

  4. thegrishalieutenant

    So envious of how many books you got to! Really want to read Outrun the Moon. It looks spectacular.

  5. Great month!! I can’t wait to read Shiny Broken Pieces, winning and Secrets Lies and Scandals!! šŸ™‚

  6. Looks like you had a great month! We Are the Ants was one that’s summary really intrigued me, so I’m excited to pick it up. Sounds mysterious.

Leave a Reply

