Waiting on Wednesday

New WoW

This is a feature started on Breaking the Spine that puts the spotlight on upcoming books.

This week’s pick is:

scythe

Scythe

Release date: November 22 2016

Goodreads: In a world where disease has been eliminated, the only way to die is to be randomly killed (“gleaned”) by professional reapers (“scythes”). Citra and Rowan are teenagers who have been selected to be scythe’s apprentices, and—despite wanting nothing to do with the vocation—they must learn the art of killing and come to understand the necessity of what they do.
Only one of them will be chosen as a scythe’s apprentice. And when it becomes clear that the winning apprentice’s first task will be to glean the loser, Citra and Rowan are pitted against one another in a fight for their lives.

Why I’m excited: I have loved every single book I’ve read by Neal Shusterman and this one sounds dark, like the Unwind series. Duel to the deaths seem to be a popular theme this year and I can’t wait to see Neal Shusterman’s spin on it. It sound be amazing.

14 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, must read, talking books, TBR books, waiting on wednesday, WoW, ya books

14 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday

  1. kgriffin3227

    I hadn’t heard of this one before, but it sounds good! Adding it to my TBR. Thanks! Here’s my WoW. Happy reading!

  2. I have this in my TBR too 🙂 I added it after Cait @ Paper Fury added it on her TTT a few weeks ago! Great pick 🙂

  3. thegrishalieutenant

    I’ve never heard of this! But I’m adding it to my TBR now. It sounds really interesting.

  4. I’ve never read anything by Shusterman but this one makes me think I should remedy that 🙂 Thanks for sharing.
    Here’s my WoW post 🙂
    Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

  5. Wow! That book sounds interesting! Here’s my WoW and check out this Recommend This! Wednesday post to join in!

  6. My son actually got a free Scythe t-shirt from Barnes & Noble during B-Fest a few weeks ago! I love Neal Shusterman, so I can’t wait for this one.

Leave a Reply

