Book Review:The Lost & Found by Katrina Leno

the lost and found

The Lost & Found

Release date: July 5th 2016

3 stars

LOST:
Frannie and Louis met in an online support group when they were both younger. They have never met face-to-face. They don’t even know each other’s real names. All they know is that they both have a mysterious tendency to lose things. Well, not lose them, exactly. Things just seem to…disappear.
FOUND:
They each receive news in the mail that sets them off on a road trip to Austin, Texas, looking for answers—and each other. Along the way, each one begins to find, as if by magic, important things the other has lost. And by the time they finally meet in person, they realize that the things you lose might be things you weren’t meant to have at all, and that you never know what you might find if you just take a chance.

For some reason, I found myself having a hard time getting into this book. The characters were quirky and interesting, the premise was solid, and I usually fall head over heels for road trip books. It’s entirely possible that the disconnect was because it wasn’t the type of book I was in the mood for at the time(though I thought I was) and if I read it again at a later date, I would enjoy it a lot more.

The story was told in the dual POVs of Frannie and Louis, both interesting characters who met in an online support group. Frannie was raised by her grandparents after her dad tried to kill her and her mom took off. Louis was struggling with PTSD after watching his sister fell off the fire escape as a child and lost both her legs. They were both great characters and had their own distinct voices, their own growth arcs, and they felt like separate characters even though their lives were very intertwined. Each of them brought someone along for the road trip, Frannie brought her cousin Arrow and Louis brought his sister Willa. Both supporting characters had their own quirks and I really enjoyed the relationship between them.

One thing I really liked was how the online relationship between Frannie and Louis was portrayed. It was healthy and a very good, realistic portrayal that not all the people you meet online are creepy but still enforced that you should be careful.

Both Frannie and Louis were prone to losing things, and not just misplacing them, but setting them down and by the time they turned around, it would disappear. It seemed to annoy them more than anything else and I wish it had been made into a bigger deal for at least one of them. I know they were likely used to it but I think it would have resonated more with me if one of them was a little creeped out by it. The magical realism caught me off-guard a bit, especially when the road trip started and Frannie and Louis started to randomly find the things the other had lost. I was expecting more of an explanation beyond the magical realism and kept waiting for it.

There were some twists that I liked and the characters definitely made the book enjoyable to read. Most of the things that didn’t connect with me felt like it was a personal thing and not a reader thing. I look forward to seeing what other people think on this one.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

2 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, reviews, talking books, ya books

2 responses to “Book Review:The Lost & Found by Katrina Leno

  1. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

  2. Pingback: June Wrap-up/July TBR | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

