Book Review: My Lady Jane by Hand, Ashton, Meadows

my lady jane

My Lady Jane

Release date: June 7th 2016

4 stars

Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married to a total stranger—and caught up in an insidious plot to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But that’s the least of Jane’s problems. She’s about to become Queen of England. Like that could go wrong.

Based on the authors alone, this would have been one of my most highly anticipated books of the summer, but add in that it was historical with a bit of a paranormal twist, and it was high on the list of books I wanted to read this summer. I’ve really enjoyed books by all three authors and I was excited to see how a collaboration between them would work.

The thing that struck me the most about the book was how much humour was infused into the plot. It definitely had a bit of a The Princess Bride or Monty Python vibe to it and I loved that. It was an infectious humour that had me laughing and wanting to keep reading without it being distracting to the overall story. I was also really impressed with how easily the POVs transitioned between the three main characters. They were three very different characters but switching between them flowed very well.

Jane was my favourite character but it was pretty close between her, Edward, and Gifford. They all had great moments where they got to shine and they all went through growth arcs. Jane being a huge book worm was what sealed her as my favourite. They dynamics between the three were interested as Edward and Jane were close, Jane and Gifford were married but pretty much strangers who were getting to know each other, and Edward and Gifford really only had Jane in common.

I also enjoyed the fact that, even though it was an alternate telling of history, there was enough real fact in the plot so someone unfamiliar with Lady Jane Grey’s story could understand what was going on and readers familiar with her story would get the references. There was also a lot of twists from the original history so that it could keep readers guessing as opposed to knowing how everything would turn out. The addition of a historical twist with a political war between the Verities(humans) and Edians(humans who can shape-shift into one animal) was an interesting concept and I thought it was well written to fit in with the time period.

The humour made it a much lighter and faster read than I was expecting. It was quite a thick book but I still read it in under two days. I didn’t want to put it down. It didn’t drag or go too fast. It was a great, enjoyable book to read.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

3 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, favorite book, reviews, talking books, ya books

3 responses to “Book Review: My Lady Jane by Hand, Ashton, Meadows

  1. Awesome review! I’m getting this on Tuesday!☺️

  2. I’ve been hearing some really great things about this one, particularly on the comedy level! I may have to pick it up after all. Great review!

  3. Great review! I’ve been seeing this book everywhere, and it sounds really good. I’ve heard some pretty negative things about the humor in the book though…some people were saying that it isn’t really that funny, so it’s nice to see that you think it was a nice addition! I think I’ll be picking this one up soon!

Leave a Reply

