May Wrap-Up/June TBR

Now that June is here, I’m looking forward to getting to read outside more. There’s a lot of great sounding contemporary books coming out that I can’t wait to beach read(or pool read).

April Wrap-Up

unrivaled Unrivaled – Alyson Noel. 3.5/5 stars. Review. This sucked me in so much more than I thought it would.

newbird Spark – Holly Schindler. 3.5/5 stars. This one was a little strange at first but the magic of it grew on me. The flashbacks really added to the story.

lucky few Lucky Few – Kathryn Ormbee. 3.5/5 stars. Review. It was really quirky and I loved the friendships between the characters.

museum of heartbreak The Museum of Heartbreak – Meg Leder. 4/5 stars. Review. It was a little bittersweet and very realistic.

loose ends list The Loose Ends List – Carrie Firestone. 4/5 stars. Review. This is one of those books I appreciate more weeks after reading it than I did right after, when I was still emotional and wrecked.

frannie and tru Frannie and Tru – Karen Hattrup. 3.5/5 stars. Review. Frannie’s growth through the book was really well done and I thought she was a very relatable character.

true letters True Letters from a Fictional Life – Kenneth Logan. 3.5/5 stars. Review. The character dynamics, the friendships, made this novel. I completely fell in love with side character Hawken.

TreacheryofBeautifulThings_JKT.indd The Treachery of Beautiful Things – Ruth Frances Long. 3/5 stars. This one just didn’t pull me in the way I was expecting. I just didn’t find myself connecting to the characters but I did think the plot was interesting.

this savage song This Savage Song – Victoria Schwab. 4/5 stars. Really interesting concept and I was drawn in immediately. I can’t wait for this to come out physically because I want it.

darkness becomes her Darkness Becomes Her – Kelly Keaton. 3/5 stars. Another one I had a hard time connecting with, which surprised me since this seemed like something I would really sink into. Could be I just wasn’t in the mood for this at the time.

wanderlost Wanderlost – Jen Malone. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I really liked the character growth but there were some logistical issues that were in the back of my mind the whole time.

Glittering Court The Glittering Court – Richelle Mead. 3.5/5 stars. Vampire Academy set such high expectations that I wonder if I would have enjoyed this more if it had been my first Richelle Mead. It was still a good beginning.

shooter Shooter – Caroline Pignat. 4/5 stars. Review. Loved The Breakfast Club feel and the way tension was high the whole time.

hot it feels to fly How it Feels to Fly – Kathryn Holmes. 4/5 stars. Review. Really relatable characters and an interesting premise sucked me right into this book.

how it ends How It Ends – Catherine Lo. 3.5/5 stars. Review. This was painful but it a good way, if that makes sense. Watching two girls with such a great friendship slowly drift apart was hard.

return to the isle Return to the Isle of the Lost – Melissa de la Cruz. 4/5 stars. Fans of the TV movie and the first book should enjoy this newest addition. I really liked the new characters and all the appearances of the characters I already liked.

all the feels All the Feels – Danika Stone. 3.5/5 stars. Review coming. I liked the way the book portrayed how important fandom family can be without making it over the top.

my lady jane My Lady Jane – Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows. 4/5 stars. Review coming. I really liked how humour was injected into the plot and how seamless the switching of POVs was between the three main characters.

just one day Just One Day – Gayle Forman. 3.5/5 stars. It was pretty addicting to read but the romance happened soooooo fast.

June TBR:

just one yearmarked girlthe lost and foundseason for fireflies

3 Comments

Filed under book lists, book-related, books, favorite book, reading recap, talking books, TBR books, wrapup, ya books

3 responses to “May Wrap-Up/June TBR

  1. Wow! Great month you had!

  2. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #5 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

  3. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #6 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

Leave a Reply

