Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s topic is Top Ten books I feel differently about after time has passed.

10. twilight big Twilight  – Stephanie Meyer. I admit, I wasn’t a huge fan of this series and my feelings in that regard haven’t changed. But hearing fans’ stories about how this series got them back into reading or just how passionate they can get, it makes me appreciate the series more now than I did back when it was all Twilight, all the time.

9. glass houses big Morganville Vampires – Rachel Caine. I binge read the first nine or ten books in this series in a few days so I was reading one book, finishing it, and going right into the next one. I did multiple books in a day. I loved them but it wasn’t the best way to fully appreciate the characters or the world-building.

8. hush hush Hush, Hush – Becca Fitzpatrick. Hush, Hush was my first experience with YA Angels and I thought it was great. After reading a lot of other series with Angels then going back to this series, all I could think was ‘I don’t remember being this annoyed with the main characters in the first book’.

7. under the never sky big Under the Never Sky – Veronica Rossi. I read this series pretty early on in the whole Dystopian craze so I didn’t fully appreciate just how intricate the world-building was until I’d read a lot of other Dystopian series with not-so-great world-building.

6. vampire academy big Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead. By the time I started this series, I think all the books except the last one were out. I read the whole series pretty fast and got caught up in the plot that I didn’t take the time to appreciate how well developed all the characters were and how complex their relationships got.

5. bobbsey The Bobbsey Twins – Laura Lee Hope. I loved this series as a kid and most of the books are boxed up in the attic(because we keep meaning to take them to the library when they’re having a collection but keep forgetting). With the books being set when they are, there’s so much about it that makes me wince now.

4. nancy drew Nancy Drew – Carolyn Keene. Another series I loved as a child but, other than thinking Nancy was really cool, I didn’t really appreciate how strong of a female character she was until I grew up.

3. madman's daughter The Madman’s Daughter – Megan Shepherd. This was one of the first non-war historical fiction books I read and also one of the first re-tellings. After reading more in both genres, I’ve come to love this series even more for the way the author was able to keep the same dark tone across three different re-tellings.

2. goodbye The Last Time We Say Goodbye – Cynthia Hand. I knew this book had deeply affected me after I’d finished it but I didn’t truly realize how much until months after when I teared up talking about it to a friend. It’s been well over a year since I read it now and it’s still hard to get through explaining it without tearing up.

1. harry potter Harry Potter – JK Rowling. I was a little late to the party but I was still reading them while they were still being published. Reading Harry Potter was the thing to do. I think a lot of us knew it was something special but to see it come to where it is now, with theme parks, a play, 8 movies and counting, and a whole new generation that’s just beginning to fall in love with it, well…every time I think I can’t possibly love this series any more than I already do, it finds a way to surprise me.

11 Comments

Filed under book lists, book-related, books, favorite book, talking books, top ten, top ten tuesday, ya books

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I really need to reread The Madmans Daughter. I remember not liking it and I forget I read it and the I’ll see the synopsis and think it’s perfect for my tastes. Maybe I was just in a mood. Lol. Great list.

  2. This is incredibly random, but I love the positive spin you put on this. For me personally, I would’ve gone into why I may not like a book or series anymore. I much prefer the nostalgia route you took, haha.

    The only books on the list that I’ve read are the Twilight books, and I can agree that they helped me get into reading when I was 14. As an adult, I probably wouldn’t reread them, but I like the memories. 🙂

    I didn’t do this topic this week, but if you’re interested, here’s my TTT.

    • LOL I work in a bookstore so putting a positive spin on books comes pretty second nature by now.

      I love the memories just holding a childhood book can bring. There’s nothing better, even if I would hate the book as an adult.

      I will:)

  3. I’ve said it so many times before, and I’ll say it again: The Vampire Academy series is my all-time favorite series, and it gets even better each time I re-read it. I’ve seen Hush, Hush on a few lists, and whileI still love the series, I feel like that might change if I were to re-read the series now. Great list!

    My TTT!

  4. lry93

    Twilight is on a few lists – I loved it the first time, and it was ok the second time, but it didn’t have that thing a book needs to make it special

Leave a Reply

