April Wrap-Up/May TBR

I read a lot of ARCs in April, knowing May was going to be full of releases and wanted to stay ahead as much as I could. I think I failed but I gave it a good try!

April Wrap-Up:

summer of sloane Summer of Sloane – Erin L Schneider. 4/5 stars. Review. I liked Sloane and enjoyed her growth journey through the summer.

even if the sky falls Even if the Sky Falls  – Mia Garcia. 3.5/5 stars. Review. A quick read that was enjoyable but the supporting characters could have had more depth.

specials Specials – Scott Westerfeld. 3/5 stars. I can’t put my finger on it but there was something keeping me from connecting with the characters this whole series.

walk in the sun A Walk in the Sun – Michelle Zink. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I liked the slow progression from strangers to co-workers to friends to more.

ask me how i got here Ask Me How I Got Here – Christine Heppermann. 3/5 stars. It was a quick read, told in verse style.

the crown's game The Crown’s Game – Evelyn Skye. 4.5/5 stars. Review. This is probably my favourite book so far this year.

night speed Night Speed – Chris Howard. 3.5/5 stars. Review. Fast-paced but not too fast that I got lost.

extras Extras – Scott Westerfeld. 3/5 stars. Still not connecting:(

queen of hearts Queen of Hearts – Colleen Oakes. 3/5 stars. Review. It was interesting but took a while for any action to happen, almost felt like a prequel novella instead of the beginning of a series.

girl against the universe Girl Against the Universe – Paula Stokes. 4/5 stars. Review. I loved all these quirky characters:)

the hunt The Hunt – Megan Shepherd. 4/5 stars. Review. The stranger this series gets, the more I like it.

raven king The Raven King – Maggie Stiefvater. 4.5/5 stars. Holy amazeballs I love this series and these characters and want to cry because it’s over.

outliers The Outliers – Kimberly McCreight. 3.5/5 stars. Review. Creepy but sometimes a little rushed.

last time we were us The Last Time We Were Us – Leah Konen. 3/5 stars. Review. The plot kept trying to grab me but every time it almost got me, something seemed to let go.

bridge to terabithia Bridge to Terabithia – Katherine Paterson. 4/5 stars. This was for a children’s book challenge. I’d watch the movie but never read the book. I don’t think I’m okay.

fall of butterflies The Fall of Butterflies – Andrea Portes. 3/5 stars. Review coming. It took a while to get used to the narration style but once I did, I liked it.

gilded Gilded – Christina Farley. 3/5 stars. This is another one where, for some reason, I just couldn’t lost myself in the plot and characters.

suffer love Suffer Love – Ashley Herring Blake. 3/5 stars. Review coming. I really liked the concept but I spent so much of the book being so angry at the adults that I couldn’t fully invest my attention on the romance.

wild swans Wild Swans – Jessica Spotswood. 3.5/5 stars. Review coming. Another one where I spent a lot of time angry at an adult but this one had a lot of supporting characters that were well-developed and I really liked it.

May TBR:

crown selectionmuseum of heartbreakfrannie and truwanderlost

2 Comments

Filed under book haul, book lists, book-related, books, favorite book, reading recap, talking books, TBR books, ya books

2 responses to “April Wrap-Up/May TBR

  1. Great books! I still need to read the raven king 😀
    So excited for the crown omg *_*
    xoxo Lea

  2. lry93

    Eek so many books that I want to read!!! I just finished reading The Crown and I adored it!!

Leave a Reply

