Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s topic is Top Ten childhood characters I’d like to revisit as adults.

10. secret garden Mary Lennox – The Secret Garden. I would love to see where she’s at as a twenty-something year old.

9. charlotte's web Fern – Charlotte’s Web. Same with Fern. Did she stay on the farm? Did she go off to have great adventures?

8. handful Patricia – A Handful of Time. Does she tell her kids all about that summer she went back in time?

7. boxcar Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny – The Boxcar Children. Are they still really close? Do they all still solve mysteries?

6. bobbsey The Bobbsey Twins. These were written so long ago that it’s jarring to go back and skim through them. What would they be like as adults in our time now?

5. matilda Matilda. I always wanted to see if Matilda would end up being a teacher.

4. madeline Madeline. As someone who’s still not very tall, I’ve always wondered if Madeline would also stay small.

3. harriet Harriet – Harriet the Spy. Does she become a teenage Veronica Mars?

2. nancy drew Nancy Drew – Nancy Drew Mysteries. This one just might be happening if the pilot gets picked up. Half of me is excited, half thinks they’ll ruin one of my favourite characters.

1. hardy Frank and Joe Hardy – The Hardy Boys Mysteries. It would be interesting to see them as adults who have been estranged for a few years, or even just so busy with their own lives that they don’t talk for weeks sometimes, and coming back together to help someone they love.

8 Comments

Filed under book lists, book-related, books, talking books, top ten, top ten tuesday, ya books

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. yay! We have a lot of the same books this week 😀 My TTT

  2. Oh my gosh, I would love to catch up with Harriet!

  3. Mary would be Ian interesting visit!

    One World, Too Many Pages

  4. I love your list! I thought about including Fern on my list as well, but it totally slipped my mind. Great choice! I’d love to see where she went, if she married a farmer, or moved to the city, if she had kids. It’d be fun! The same for Wilbur. I think it’d be cute if Wilbur had kids and Fern kept them all on her own farm,

    I wanted to see more with Matilda and Ms. Honey (going by the movie version as I’ve never read the book). I thought the two of them were just too cute together.

    Great list! Here’s my TTT. 😀

  5. I love that Matilda is on so many lists this week. She’s the best!

  6. Some amazing books on this list, Matilda is a good one!!

  7. Matilda made my list as well – I really should have added Fern! 🙂

    Check out my TTT.

Leave a Reply

