Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s topic is Top Ten for every X to read. I went with Young Reader(9-12) who wants to read YA.

10. harry potter Harry Potter – JK Rowling. Harry Potter is usually shelved with Middle Grade/Young Readers but with how the series grows darker and the books gets longer, I feel it’s a good starting point.

9. outsiders The Outsiders – SE Hinton. This one may be older but so many schools still do it in the curriculum and it’s a book that’s stayed with me since I read it so many years ago. It has a coming-of-age arc and turf wars and a great family bond.

8. boys i've loved To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han. Lara Jean is sixteen but she felt younger to me through the book. She was very naive and innocent and going through a lot of relatable problems.

7. since you've been gone big Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson. This one was actually my least favourite of hers(but I still really liked it) but it’s usually my go-to recommend for kids looking for fun contemporary that still has some drama.

6. orphan queen The Orphan Queen/The Mirror King – Jodi Meadows. I like this duology for kids wanting to get into teen fantasy. It has world-building, character growth, and everything a longer series would have all within two books.

5. steelheart big Steelheart – Brandon Sanderson. This one I’m usually a little leery of recommending since I haven’t finished the series and I can’t guarantee anything about future violence or how graphic things get but the first book is still a great option, especially for superhero fans.

4. top ten clues Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless – Liz Czukas. I like this one for anyone looking for a light, quick read that has a lot of humour but is still filled with heart and friendships.

3. get even Get Even – Gretchen McNeil. This is a go-to when they say they love the show Pretty Little Liars, even before pointing out the books series. The duology is a lot less intimidating than the long series and it has the same feel of PLL.

2. between the notes Between the Notes – Sharon Huss Roat. I like this one for how relatable it is, whether it’s keeping a secret from friends, having to move houses, falling in love, being confused by love.

1. sisterhoos The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants – Ann Brashares. Again, an older series but one that I think will always be relatable and the feel of this book is present in so many others.

8 Comments

Filed under book lists, book-related, books, favorite book, talking books, top ten, top ten tuesday, ya books

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. These were some great suggestions. I still haven’t read the Outsiders or Harry Potter, but want to soon. Check out my Top Ten Tuesday

  2. Harry Potter is one of these enduring series that EVERYONE needs to read! Great list of recommendations 🙂 My TTT

  3. bftreviews

    This is a good mix of YA! 🙂 I’d add anything Sarah Dessen to it, she’s great for the move from Middle Grade to YA. Great list!
    My TTT

  4. lry93

    HP is obviously a must read! I also really enjoyed To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before 🙂 Most of the rest are waiting on my TBR list!

  5. Lovely list 🙂 I agree with so many of your recommendations!

  6. Great suggestions! I adore Harry Potter and The Outsiders! 😀

  7. YES to the Sisterhood! I just read 2 of the books a few weeks ago and loved them! I just wish I read them while in high school.

Leave a Reply

