March Wrap-up/April TBR

A little late this month but it’s here now. We had a surprise visit in the form on my aunt and uncle this weekend, who spent a few days with us while they were in town to pick up their new puppy(boxer, so cute!). Now I kind of want a puppy. And books, because I always want books.

March Wrap-up:

resist 3/5 stars. I didn’t get into this one as much as I’d hope but I liked the concept.

in real life In Real Life – Jessica Love. 3/5 stars. Review. There was a bit too much focus on the main character, who I didn’t like too much, so all the other characters felt flat.

distance between us The Distance Between Us – Kasie West. 4/5 stars. I just love Kasie West’s books and this one was no exception. So cute and perfect summer reading.

this is where the world ends This is Where the World Ends – Amy Zhang. 3/5 stars. Review. I had high hopes for this one because I really liked Falling into Place but I had a lot of problems with the friendship that was the main focus on the book. It just wasn’t enjoyable to read.

the way i used to be The Way I Used to Be – Amber Smith. 4/5 stars. Review. This one hit me hard and it still hasn’t let go. It’s hard to say it was enjoyable because of the subject matter but it was one that left an impression.

mirror king The Mirror King – Jodi Meadows. 4.5/5 stars. Review. My heart still hasn’t recovered. This was an amazing end to the duology. Action, romance, twists, darkness, hope, betrayal. What else could a last book want?

when we collided When We Collided – Emery Lord. 4/5 stars. Review coming. I love Emery Lord’s writing and this one was no exception. She writes great friendships and sweet love stories.

tell the fire and the wind Tell the Wind and Fire – Sarah Rees Brennan. 3.5/5 stars. Review. This one didn’t live up to my expectations unfortunately. It was an interesting concept but it felt like the pacing was either slow or very fast and there wasn’t much depth to a lot of the characters.

this is the story of you This is the Story of You – Beth Kephart. 3.5/5 stars. Review coming. This one hit me harder than I was expecting considering it was less than 300 pages. I felt for the main character and everyone in the book.

Don't get caught Don’t Get Caught – Kurt Dinan. 4/5 stars. Review. This was a lot of fun to read. I completely see the comparison to The Breakfast Club meets Ocean’s 11.

rebel of the sands Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton. 4.5/5 stars. Review coming. Loved! Can I have a memory wipe to read it again?

all these things I've done All These Things I’ve Done – Gabrielle Zevin. 3.5/5 stars. Another one with an interesting concept but it didn’t pull me into the story as much as I was hoping.

unexpected everything The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson. 4/5 stars. I love Morgan Matson’s books, she’s definitely an auto-buy author, and this one didn’t disappoint. Great friendships, a slow romance, and an interesting family dynamic.

way back to you The Way Back to You – Michelle Andreani and Mindi Scott. 4/5 stars. Review coming. I laughed, I cried, I hurt, I smiled, I fell in love. This book was just so much in its few pages.

traitor angels Traitor Angels – Anne Blankman. 3.5/5 stars. Review coming. I had a bit of a hard time with this one at first because of the high expectations due to her other books being so awesome but once I got into it, it was interesting. Slower than I expected but the plot was complicated and it was set in 1666, so travel took a while.

Ruined amy Ruined – Amy Tintera. 4.5/5 stars. Review coming. I loved this one. The world-building, the secrecy, the friendships, the high stakes. Everything was so good and great to read.

pretties Pretties – Scott Westerfeld. 3/5 stars. I didn’t enjoy this one as much as Uglies. Maybe it was because I waited so long in between books so it was a little hard to get back into the world.

April TBR:

even if the sky fallsthe crown's gamethe huntgirl against the universe

4 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, favorite book, reading recap, talking books, TBR books, wrapup, ya books

4 responses to “March Wrap-up/April TBR

  1. Wow! It looks like you read a loooot! I’m jealous. I’m looking forward to picking up Rebel of the Sands and The Way I Used to Be! Glad you enjoyed them.

    I’m also soooo looking forward to The Crown’s Game! One of my most anticipated. (:

    • There’s nothing to do here except work and read lol. At least until the snow goes away and it warms up(and even then I just read by the pool or the beach lol).
      I’m nervous for The Crown’s Game because of all the hype and expectations but I can’t wait to start it.

  2. lry93

    I have a lot of these on my TBR! I love Kasie West’s books! I have yet to find one that I don’t!

  3. Wow, you had a great month 😀 I’m excited to read so many of these, especially Rebel of the Sands!

Leave a Reply

