Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s Top Ten is putting your own spin on either the future or the past. I’m doing settings I love/would love to see.

Settings I love:

10. prisoner bigfront lines I can’t get enough of WWII settings. I know going in there’s going to be a lot of action, characters I will likely cry over, and so much history.

9. under a painted skywalk on earth a stranger The Oregon trail. It’s danger everywhere and the slow pace of the wagon train or travel means lots of opportunity for new friendships and great conversation.

8. rebel mechanicsthis monstrous thing The 1800s. This time period fascinates me.

7. avalon bigstarflight Space. The possibilities just seem endless.

6. clockwork angel bigrevenge and the wild Steampunk. I do love the Victorian-era on its own but I really love when steampunk elements are thrown in as well. It adds a different mix.

5. zodiacinvaded Alien planets. How are they different than us? How are they the same? So many questions.

Setting I would love to see more:

4. Books set in countries we don’t see much of or that don’t exist anymore. Ex: Prussia.

3. The near future. It seems like most futuristic books I’ve read focus on 100+ years into the future. What about ten years? Do we change much? Is it the same?

2. The 1950s. I’ve read a lot of books with a WWII setting but not a lot that focus on the aftermath.

1. 17th century France. Or more specifically anything to do with The Musketeers era because it’s The Musketeers era.

5 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, favorite book, talking books, top ten, ya books

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. an excellent read for the 1950s/aftermath of WW2 is The Memoir of Johnny Devine! I highly recommend it! My TTT

  2. I remember fondly playing Oregon Trail. I will have to check out these books–hopefully there is less dysentery, drowning, and dead oxen than when I played!
    My TTT

  3. Great selection! I really want to read Front Lines, Under A Painted Sky, Walk on Earth a Stranger, Starlight and Revenge and the Wild!

Leave a Reply

