January Wrap-Up/February TBR

First month of a new year is done! February promises to be a huge month, just looking at all the books that are being released that I want on my shelves.

January Wrap-Up:

the year we fell apart The Year We Fell Apart – Emily Martin. 4/5 stars. Review. I enjoyed this story of forgiveness and second chances.

miss peregrin Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs. 4/5 stars. It was a fun and creepy book to read. The pictures really added to the creepy factor.

bookishly ever after Bookishly Ever After – Isabel Bandeira. 4/5 stars. Review. This was so cute and I really appreciated being able to connect with a bookworm character.

hollow city Hollow City – Ransom Riggs. 3.5/5 stars. I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first one. It was a little slower but still good.

promises i made Promises I Made – Michelle Zink. 3/5 stars. I really liked the first book and the heist and everything that went into it. This sequel was still good but much slower.

assassin's heart Assassin’s Heart – Sarah Ahiers. 4/5 stars. Review. I really liked the world in this book and the main character was badass.

for the record For the Record – Charlotte Huang. 3.5/5 stars. Review. It was good but I wish there’d been more depth to the main character’s bandmates.

the one thing The One Thing – Marci Lyn Curtis. 3/5 stars. Review.  Another book where I wish other characters had gotten more development. It’s hard to connect to flat characters.

sword and verse Sword & Verse – Kathy MacMillan. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I enjoyed the overall story and concept but it was pretty slow until a little past the half-way point.

ungodly Ungodly – Kendare Blake. 4/5 stars. I really enjoyed this whole series. I love Greek mythology so to see these Gods in such dire circumstances and them fighting to live, was interesting.

encore to an empty room Encore to an Empty Room – Kevin Emerson. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I’m not the biggest fan of the main character and I think I feel most for the characters I’m not supposed to feel for but this middle book set up the last one perfectly.

library of souls Library of Souls – Ransom Riggs. 4/5 stars. This last book made me really excited that this series is(hopefully still) going to be a movie.(please don’t screw it up).

revenge and the wild Revenge and the Wild – Michelle Modesto. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I think if I went into this expecting something different than a steampunk western, maybe I would have enjoyed it more.

body finder big The Body Finder – Kimberly Derting. 3/5 stars. I really like the concept but it was a bit predictable.

desires of the dead big Desires of the Dead – Kimberly Derting. 3/5 stars. This one seemed a little slow and it was still predictable.

last echoe big The Last Echo – Kimberly Derting. 2.5/5 stars. This one was just really slow. It was a bit of a struggle to get through it.

shallow graves Shallow Graves – Kali Wallace. 3/5 stars. Review coming. This one went back and forth between being slow and being too fast.

not if i see you first Not If I See You First – Eric Lindstrom. 4/5 stars. Review. I really liked the friendships and the main character’s sense of humour.

dead silence big Dead Silence – Kimberly Derting. 3.5/5 stars. This was a lot better paced than the others and ended up being my favourite of the series.

symptoms of being human Symptoms of Being Human – Jeff Garvin. 4.5/5 stars. Review coming. Holy amazeballs!

guardian of the gate Guardian of the Gate – Michelle Zink. 3/5 stars. This one seemed to suffer from classic middle book syndrome.

circle of fire Circle of Fire – Michelle Zink. 3/5 stars. It was a good conclusion but things went as I expected, making it predictable.

girl from everywhere The Girl from Everywhere – Heidi Heilig. 4/5 stars. Review coming. It was a little slow but the main character was engaging and I liked the mythology of it all.

February TBR:

glass swordthe love that split the worldBlackheartslifeboat clique

7 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, favorite book, reading recap, talking books, TBR books, wrapup, ya books

7 responses to “January Wrap-Up/February TBR

  1. I’m glad to see you liked The Symptoms of Being Human! It sounds great.
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  2. Yvo

    I have been meaning to continue Miss Peregrine’s series; hopefully next month since I really enjoyed the first book! I’m also looking forward to Glass Sword.

  3. I am so happy that you liked Miss Peregrine’s Home and I cannot wait for Symptoms of Being Human

    One World, Too Many Pages

Leave a Reply

