Talking Books: Bookish facts about my geeky self

100_0370100_0376100_0402

  • I often think in terms of book prices instead of actual dollars. ex: I love that sixty dollar dress in the window but that would be three hardcover books. Do I really need to add another dress to my overwhelming wardrobe?
  • Reading is not a passive hobby for me. I yell and scream and throw things. I cry and laugh and pace around the room. It’s exhausting.
  • I banish books to shelves I can’t see if the covers or sizes don’t match.
  • I have scared more than one family member with sudden outbursts at character deaths.
  • I have also woken more than one family member up at night by screaming ‘you didn’t fix it!’ or some variation at the book’s author who can’t hear me.
  • I give a person one chance and one chance only if they’re borrowing a book. Books are expensive and I can’t afford to replace the ones that get damaged because a person didn’t take care of it.
  • No matter how many times a book to movie or TV adaptation disappoints me, I still get excited the next time one is announced.
  • I find re-organizing my bookshelves relaxing.
  • I have traveled to far more places through books than I ever will in life.
  • I actually don’t mind a love triangle when it makes sense within the plot of the book.
  • There are some fictional deaths I will never be okay with.
  • I wear something fandom based every single day. It might not be directly book related but there’s usually books about the movie or TV show. Ex: Supernatual.
  • While there are exceptions to lots of rules, when it comes to books, I don’t bend easily.
14 Comments

Filed under book-related, books, talking books, ya books

14 responses to “Talking Books: Bookish facts about my geeky self

  1. I think in terms of book prices too! Once I saw a laptop on sale for $300 and I thought, “I could buy so many books with that!” 😛

  2. I’m so the same with what you said first! Whenever I buy something, I’m like “that would buy me like 9 books… is it worth it?!?” I was definitely like that when I bought my new computer.
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  3. Oh my gosh, I do the book price thing too! I’m like, I can buy four paperbacks with us or two hardcovers… hmm. Haha, some of your facts are super funny. Especially the waking people up because of your outbursts! I would probably too but I end up just screaming in a pillow.

  4. The first one is SO true! I not only do it with non-books though, I even do it with books!

    One World, Too Many Pages (formerly TheDonkeyInvasion)

  5. I, too, am a member of this geeky, bookish tribe. 😉

  6. OMG! I do the book prices thing too! Whenever I go to ikea I’m just like hmmm that looks like a nice couch and then I’m like ummm no. It costs 10books

Leave a Reply

