Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s Top Ten is a freebie so I choose to do Top Ten books that hooked my by the first chapters.

10. assassin's heart Assassin’s Heart – Sarah Ahiers. Start off with the main character assassinating someone and chances are I’ll want to keep reading.

9. vampire academy big Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead. Definite high stakes right away;)

8. steelheart big Steelheart – Brandon Sanderson. Another one that started off with a huge bang and I just had to keep reading.

7. snow like ashes Snow Like Ashes – Sara Raasch. World-building in the first chapters, setting the mood, defining relationships. This one chapter does a lot.

6. thousand pieces of you A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray. This one started off with the main character vowing revenge for the murder of her father and the betrayal of someone she trusted. Definitely needed more!

5. madman's daughter The Madman’s Daughter – Megan Shepherd. The dark mood so important to the whole series is set nicely in the first chapters.

4. darkest minds The Darkest Minds – Alexandra Bracken. I was actually hooked by the tiny prologue in this book. After the first chapter, there was no hope of me stopping.

3. shutter Shutter – Courtney Aladema. The first chapter does a great job showing us what we’re in for with this creepy book.

2. Raven boys big The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater. How could I not be hooked?

1. harry potter Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – JK Rowling. Again, it didn’t really take the full first chapter for me to know I would be reading this all night.

15 Comments

Filed under book lists, book-related, books, favorite book, talking books, top ten, ya books

15 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I just finished the Vampire Academy Series, and you are right. Once I started, I couldn’t stop! So GOOD!

    My TTT! 🙂

    Weird Girl and What’s His Name.

  2. ooo great topic! I haven’t read any of these except for HP but I totally agree with that one 😀 My TTT

  3. What a fun topic! I read “Snow Like Ashes” though to be honest, I don’t remember if I was hooked from chapter one, still, it was a fun read! 🙂

  4. Aw ❤ Harry Potter hooked me immediately too. Great choices.

  5. YAY! Great choice of topic this week. I always love freebie week as people always do such amazing topics! I love those kinds of books, the ones where the very first chapter just completely grabs you. I definitely felt like that when I read Harry Potter, it was amazing!!!

    Here’s my TTT post if you want to check it out. I picked non-book romances I would love to see get book adaptations.

  6. Vampire Academy was just so addictive. I finished the series in one go! I’m really excited to read Snow Like Ashes because I’ve heard such great things about it. Anyways, great theme 😀

  7. So many great ones here! I was so hooked by Shutter!

    Check out my TTT.

  8. Yes!!! vampire academy is soooo good and so is thousand pieces of yours

  9. I really want to read The Darkest Minds, but have been putting it off for whatever reason. It made me happy that you were hooked right away; there might be hope for me! Assassin’s Heart and Snow Like Ashes both sound interesting as well.

    This was a good idea for a post!
    Here’s my TTT from last week: Bookish Habits

Leave a Reply

