Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s Top Ten is books from 2015 that I wish I’d gotten to, which I did last week so this week instead, I’m doing Top Ten books with the misfits becoming family theme(or friends so close they become like family or really, favourite friendships) because binge-ing on shows like Firefly, Buffy, and The Musketeers has put me in the mood for it.

10. avalon big Avalon- Mindee Arnett. And we’ll start right off with a book whose dynamic reminded me a bit of Firefly. We don’t get to see Jeth and his crew becoming like family, that’s already happened, but we do see how much they care about each other and work so well together.

9. starflight Starflight – Melissa Landers. Another one with that Firefly feel. We see a bit more of the misfit crew becoming family in this one since it involves two outsiders observing the crew.

8. sweet evil Sweet Evil – Wendy Higgins. This one took a while to see because the group is spread out all over the world but through Anna’s POV, we get to see those important interactions that show how much they care for each other.

7. isle of the lost The Isle of the Lost – Melissa de la Cruz. This book is a prequel to the Descendants movie that was on the Disney channel and shows how the four main characters became friends and more of a family than they’re real ones ever were.

6. Raven boys big The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater. I remain firm in my belief that this group needs each other, everyone is equally important, they are better when they are together than they will ever be apart.

5. born at midnight Born at Midnight – CC Hunter. The three main girls sharing a cabin at the camp is made for either an eventual worst enemies or sisterhood scenario. They fight worse than me and my sister ever did.

4. sisterhoos The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants – Ann Brashares. Can’t have a friends like family list without the group of girls with the magically fitting jeans.

3. percy Percy Jackson – Rick Riordan. This one was cemented in the stars long before they arrived at camp, wasn’t it? It was too perfect.

2. darkest minds The Darkest Minds – Alexandra Bracken. One of my favourite groups of misfits still managed to form quite a strong bond while their lives were always in danger.

1. harry potter Harry Potter – JK Rowling. This one is on the list not just for how much of a family the trio become, or even the extended group, but also for how much like family the people in the same houses became.

13 Comments

Filed under book lists, book-related, books, favorite book, talking books, top ten, ya books

13 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Misfits becoming family is one of my favorite themes! I am so glad to have stumbled across this list 🙂 I will be adding quite a few of these to my wishlist!

    My TTT.

  2. Yey – Harry Potter and traveling pants.. I really should get myself together and read Percy Jackson. Starting to feel ashamed now>

  3. I like what you did with the topic this week. I just found a copy of Avalon so I’m really excited to get to it since it’s in such good company!

    Check out my TTT.

  4. love your theme this week!! Harry Potter is my absolute favorite of the bunch 🙂 My TTT

  5. I love your list! I read The Sisterhood of the traveling pants and I loved it! I’ve posted my own list on my blog.

  6. The friendships and bonds in Percy Jackson are what make it so great. I love how everyone is so different but they all stick together and make a perfect bunch 😀

Leave a Reply

