Book Review: Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

reign of shadows

Reign of Shadows

Release date: February 9th 2016

3 stars

It’s been seventeen years since the kingdom of Relhok was enveloped in darkness and a chancellor used the opportunity to murder the king and queen. In a hidden towers deep inside the forest, the lost princess, Luna, has been raised by two of her parents’ most trusted friends and has learned to adapt to her surroundings. She longs for more, more freedom, more answers, more people to talk to, so when she stumbles across an archer named Fowler and two others in need of help, she brings them back to the tower. An attack on the tower ends up with Luna and Fowler escaping and on the run, with nothing to rely on but their instincts and each other. Luna was convinced she was trained for anything but she soon learns just how dangerous the darkness is.

I really enjoyed Sophie Jordan’s duology Uninvited so I was excited to see where a more fantasy-based plot would take me. I haven’t read anything else by her but this one seemed like one I would enjoy since I do like fantasy and a strong female character. I didn’t end up enjoying it as much as the Uninvited duology but it was still a good read that kept me entertained and had characters I liked.

Luna was a character I liked seeing grow from a sheltered girl with a stubborn streak to someone who learned she could rely on herself and handle herself in the world. She was a lot of big talk at the beginning, insisting she could handle outside trips by herself, but she quickly learned just how dangerous the outside was. Fowler was interesting as well, all moody and hating to make attachments to people. These two bantered back and forth through their journey and it was so much fun to read. They were great foils for each other and their POVs felt very different from each other, which was great.

The overall plot was pretty slow at first. There was a lot of time spent at the tower then just walking through the woods. Every now and then there would be something to happen but for the most part, it felt like not too much of consequences happened until close to the end, when everything seemed to happen.

Another thing that was lacking was more explanations of things but there’s still a chance we’ll get more in the next book. It left me with a lot of questions, especially in regards to the zombie-like creatures that are populating the world, and just how vegetation and animals are surviving with so little sunlight. If there had been more actions, I probably could have overlooked those things but there was little to distract my brain from coming up with those kinds of questions.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

6 Comments

Filed under books, reviews, ya books

6 responses to “Book Review: Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

  1. Great review! I still want to read this but perhaps I’ll borrow it from the library instead of purchasing it.

    • Thanks:) Yeah, I’ll probably hold off on buying it until I know how the rest of the books will be. If it’s a case of first book was decent but the rest of the series is amazing, then I’ll want them.

  2. The blurb made it sound so good! I hate fantasy where things aren’t explained properly. I need lots of detail to really get into the world. Nice review 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

  4. Pingback: Comparing Before and After: Reign of Shaodws by Sophie Jordan | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

