November Wrap-Up/December TBR

It’s December, which means Christmas and snow and days of being snowed in with nothing to do but read and snuggle in warm blankets with a cup of hot chocolate. Been busy buying presents for everyone, now just have to wrap them all. Which I sucked at doing.

November Wrap-Up:

apollyon Apollyon – Jennifer L Armentrout. 4/5 stars. This may not be my favourite series by Jennifer L Armentrout(that would be the Luxe series) but I definitely enjoy this one.

wolf by wolf Wolf by Wolf – Ryan Graudin. 4/5 stars. This was a really interesting retelling. I liked the magical twist and the main character.

sentinel big Sentinel – Jennifer L Armentrout. 4/5 stars. Wahhhhh it’s over:(

ten thousand Ten Thousand Skies Above You – Claudia Gray. 4.5/5 stars. Review. I love this series and the interactions between the characters.

hotel ruby Hotel Ruby – Suzanne Young. 3.5/5 stars. Not as creepy as I was expecting but I still enjoyed the concept.

forest of hands and teeth The Forest of Hands and Teeth – Carrie Ryan. 3.5/5 stars. I think I had my expectations a little high with this one because I ended up finding it predictable. Good, but predictable.

scorpion rules The Scorpion Rules – Erin Bow. 3/5 stars. There were times when it felt like the book was trying to be two genres at once and not fully succeeding in either.

accident season The Accident Season – Moira Fowley Doyle. 3/5 stars. Review. I liked the concept but it was overall predictable and not as creepy as it seemed it would be.

curious incident The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime – Mark Haddon. 4/5 stars. This one was one where I was glad I kept going with it because it started pretty slow for me but by the end, I was really into it.

unbound neal UnBound – Neal Shusterman. 4/5 stars. Not quite what I was expecting or hoping(more focus on the main characters from the series) but still interesting to see so many POVs within the world from the series.

weight of feathers The Weight of Feathers – Anna Marie McLemore. 4/5 stars. Review. Less magic involved than I expected but I really liked the characters and the tension between the families and how it affected the next generation.

soundless Soundless – Richelle Mead. 3/5 stars. I love Richelle Mead so me not loving this book hurts a little. I tried so hard but I just didn’t connect with it.

always a witch Always a Witch – Carolyn MacCullough. 3/5 stars. Didn’t enjoy this one as much as the first one. Slower and more predictable.

tempest rising Tempest Rising – Tracy Deebs. 3/5 stars. A little predictable but a series I could see myself really getting into.

love and other foreign words Love and Other Foreign Words – Erin McCahan. 3/5 stars. A cute story, bit predictable but enjoyable.

zeroes Zeroes – Scott Westerfeld/Margo Lanagan/Deborah Biancotti. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I loved the misfit family feel and it was easy to read despite it’s size.

wildefire Wildefire – Karsten Knight. 3.5/5 stars. I was in the mood for some mythology and this turned out to be a good book to satisfy the craving.

thicker than water Thicker Than Water – Brigid Kemmerer. 4/5 stars. Review and Blog Tour coming.

tempest unleashed Tempest Unleashed – Tracy Deebs. 3.5/5 stars. A good middle book to the series.

tempest revealed Tempest Revealed – Tracy Deebs. 3.5/5 stars. Really, it’s about 3.75 stars, 4 if I rounded up. It turned out to be my favourite of the series.

embers and echoes Embers and Echoes – Karsten Knight. 4/5 stars. I like that this didn’t feel like a middle book.

afterglow Afterglow – Karsten Knight. 3.5/5 stars. A very enjoyable conclusion to the series. Fast paced and kept the pages turning.

valkyrie rising Valkyrie Rising – Ingrid Paulson. 3.5/5 stars. I think I could have really liked this series if there was anything to follow this book.

front lines Front Lines – Michael Grant. 4/5 stars. Review. Slow to start but then, hello action.

nightmare dilemma The Nightmare Dilemma – Mindee Arnett. 4/5 stars. At this point. I think I’ll say that I enjoy everything Mindee Arnett writes. I haven’t been disappointed yet.(knock on wood)

valkyrie symptoms Valkyrie Symptoms – Ingrid Paulson. 3/5 stars. A short story prequel that gave good insight.

lock and mori Lock and Mori – Heather M Petty. 3/5 stars. Review coming. I really liked the dynamic between Lock and Mori but it was pretty predictable.

venom Venom – Fiona Paul. 3/5 stars. It was enjoyable but predictable.

mortal gods Mortal Gods – Kendare Blake. 4/5 stars. A little slow at first but once the action picked up, it was great. I love the dynamic between all the characters.

belladonna Belladonna – Fiona Paul. 3/5 stars. Still enjoyable. Maybe I was just in the mood for something a bit different and would enjoy it more if I was in the mood for this genre.

December TBR:

broken between useverbound bigiron traitor bigthis raging lightnot summer without you

2 Comments

Filed under books, favorite book, reading recap, TBR books, ya books

2 responses to “November Wrap-Up/December TBR

  1. thegrishalieutenant

    I am so jealous of your ability to read so many books in a month. O_O

  2. Great post! I’d love for read the curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time.

    http://www.thedonkeyinvasion.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

