Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week’s Top Ten is quotes I’ve loved from books I’ve read this year.

10. me before you “You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

9. wrong side of right “It’s amazing how much one person can change the world, even if they don’t know they’re doing it.”

8. meet you there “And maybe some people are like collages – no matter how broken or useless we felt, we were an essential part of the whole. We mattered.”

7. under a painted sky “Princesa came to rancho one day after her owner no want her. Says too much horse for him, too wild. But he’s wrong. She’s not wild, she’s spirited. ‘Wild’ means ‘I no care about what I do.’ But ‘spirited’ means, ‘I love what I do.’ Big difference.”

6. every last word “I didn’t go there looking for you. I went looking for me.” My voice is soft, low, and shaky. “But now, here you are, and somehow, in finding you, I think I’ve found myself.”

5. all the bright places “It’s my experience that people are a lot more sympathetic if they can see you hurting, and for the millionth time in my life I wish for measles or smallpox or some other easily understood disease just to make it easier on me and also on them.”

4. heart and other black holes “Depression is like a heaviness that you can’t ever escape. It crushes down on you, making even the smallest things like tying your shoes or chewing on toast seem like a twenty-mile hike uphill. Depression is a part of you; it’s in your bones and your blood.”

3. dumplin “I guess sometimes the perfection we perceive in others is made up of a whole bunch of tiny imperfections, because some days the damn dress just won’t zip.”

2. challenger deep “The scariest thing of all is never knowing what you’re suddenly going to believe.”

1. goodbye “Time passes. That’s the rule. No matter what happens, no matter how much it might feel like everything in your life has been frozen around one particular moment, time marches on.”

3 Comments

Filed under book lists, books, favorite book, top ten, ya books

3 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. lry93

    I have seen the quote from The Wrong Side of Right a few times 🙂

Leave a Reply

