Book Review: First & Then by Emma Mills

first and then

First & Then

4 stars

Devon Tennyson wouldn’t change a thing. She’s happy watching Friday night games from the bleachers, silently crushing on best friend Cas, and blissfully ignoring the future after high school. But the universe has other plans. It delivers Devon’s cousin Foster, an unrepentant social outlier with a surprising talent for football, and the obnoxiously superior and maddeningly attractive star running back, Ezra, right where she doesn’t want them first into her P.E. class and then into every other aspect of her life.

I had this one of my must-buy list then somehow forgot to buy it. Luckily it was chosen as part of last month’s Uppercasebox and I couldn’t stop myself from reading it as soon as I got it. It was such a cute story with characters that I loved and relationships, friendships, and family that I absolutely fell for.

The main character, Devon, was someone I could easily relate to, with her being a bookworm and a lot of the comments she would make, I could see myself making in the same situation. She was just an enjoyable character to be reading from her POV as she struggled with having a crush on her best friend and adjusting to suddenly sharing her house with her cousin. Foster, Devon’s cousin, was my favourite character of the book. He was adorable and awkward and he just didn’t seem to care if he liked things other people thought were weird. He also made me want to hug him and protect him, both when he started playing football and any time the subject of his mother would come up.

Ezra was also an interesting character. The school’s football star who wasn’t the most popular or even liked guy in school. He wasn’t exactly a huge jerk but it was more like he thought himself above the usual high school drama and his focus was so narrow on football that it didn’t leave time to climb the hierarchy. He showed his soft side with Foster, and later with Devon, and I truly enjoyed reading about the three of them together, just hanging out.

The overall plot was pretty simple, which made it easy, fast, and an all around great read. There were times it was a bit predictable but not in the way that ruined the story or the reading experience. Football played a big role and Emma Mills did a good job including the sport without taking away from the characters’ arcs or using a bunch a terminology a non-football fan wouldn’t get. My football knowledge comes from watching football movies and I found myself able to follow the action in the book easily.

This ended up being one book where I was disappointed it was so short. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to Devon, Ezra, or Foster.

5 Comments

Filed under books, favorite book, reviews, ya books

5 responses to “Book Review: First & Then by Emma Mills

  1. I agree! I really enjoyed this book and I could have kept reading for so much longer.

  2. Kathy K

    I adore the cover of this book!!! Great review, I’ve nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Blogging Award! https://thenoveltyoflife.wordpress.com/2015/11/09/sisterhood-of-the-world-blogging-award/

  3. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

