September Wrap-Up/October TBR

Another month down. Where is the time going? Lots of great books came out last month and even more are coming out this month. Craziness!!!  This month I got to finish a lot of series I’ve always meant to read. I’m feeling very caught up right now.

September Wrap-Up:

redeemed Redeemed – PC and Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. Not my favourite series but there were some great moments and characters I really enjoyed.

what we saw What We Saw – Aaron Hartzler. 4.5/5 stars. Review. I couldn’t put this one down!

pillars of ponderay The Pillars of Ponderay – Lindsay Cummings. 4/5 stars. Review. This is such a fun and adventurous middle grade series!

bloody valentine Bloody Valentine – Melissa De La Cruz. 3/5 stars. I’m getting through this series. With this one and other ones from this month, I think I binged out a little too much on vampire books.

wrath and dawn The Wrath and the Dawn – Renee Ahdieh. 4/5 stars. Review. A really interesting premise and world but wasn’t completely sold on the romance.

lost in time Lost in Time – Melissa De La Cruz. 3/5 stars. More vampires.

rebel mechanics Rebel Mechanics – Shanna Swendson. 4/5 stars.Review coming. This was the Uppercase box book of the month and it was really interesting.

gates of paradise Gates of Paradise – Melissa De La Cruz. 3/5 stars. This month will not be so vampire jammed.

blackwood Blackwood – Michelle Krys. 3.5/5 stars. A prequel to the Hexed series. Short, easy read.

charmed Charmed – Michelle Krys. 3.5/5 stars. I really like the humour of the main character and all the magic present in our world.

evermore Evermore – Alyson Noel. 2.5/5 stars. The main character was a little annoying so it was a bit hard to get through.

everything everything Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon. 4/5 stars. Review. Really interesting concept and cute romance.

blue moon Blue Moon – Alyson Noel. 3/5 stars. She’s still annoying me.

beastly Beastly – Alex Flinn. 3.5/5 stars. I enjoyed the book a lot more than the movie.

madness so discreet A Madness so Discreet – Mindy McGinnis. 4/5 stars. Review coming. Really interesting historical book. It was like criminal minds without technology in some ways.

blackthorn The Blackthorn Key – Kevin Sands. 4/5 stars. Had to read this one for work but it was entertaining. A good series for middle grade.

shadowland Shadowland – Alyson Noel. 3/5 stars. She’s getting less annoying. Or I’m getting used to her.

legacy of kings Legacy of Kings – Eleanor Herman. 3.5/5 stars. Review coming. I really liked the world and a lot of the characters and the history but it felt long in some places.

dark flame Dark Flame – Alyson Noel. 3/5 stars. About the same level of annoying as the previous book.

jellicoe road Jellicoe Road – Melinda Marchetta. 4/5 stars. Review. It bit hard to get into at first but I liked it once I did get into it.

future perfect Future Perfect – Jen Larsen. 3/5 stars. Review. Good concept but it felt like the main character’s story got overwhelmed by all the other characters, especially in the middle.

night star Night Star – Alyson Noel. 3/5 stars. Almost done another series.

evernight Evernight – Claudia Gray. 3.5/5 stars. Not my favourite Claudia Gray series but I like the main character in this one.

step toward falling A Step Toward Falling – Cammie McGovern. 3/5 stars. Review coming. I had a hard time with this one. It was a great concept but I just couldn’t get sucked into the storytelling.

romeo redeemed Romeo Redeemed – Stacey Jay. 3/5 stars. I am always up for character redemption and I think this book pulled it off well.

sweet temptation Sweet Temptation – Wendy Higgins. 4/5 stars. I loved the Sweet trilogy and this one is the whole series from Kaidan’s POV. A whole new way of looking at the character and some great bromance scenes between him and Blake.

everlasting Everlasting – Alyson Noel. 3/5 stars. Another series down.

stargazer Stargazer – Claudia Gray. 3.5/5 stars. This one’s my favourite, both for the way the plot moved and the cover. I love this purple.

hourglass vampires Hourglass – Claudia Gray. 3.5/5 stars. I really need a vampire break.

white rose The White Rose – Amy Ewing. 3.5/5 stars. Review coming. A lot more action than the first book and we get more world-building, which is great.

October TBR:

ice like firecatacomblies about the truthtrial by firenightmare dilemma

3 Comments

Filed under books, favorite book, reading recap, TBR books, ya books

3 responses to “September Wrap-Up/October TBR

  1. Yvo

    Wow that’s an impressive amount of books! Quite a few of these are on my TBR as well.

  2. It would seem you had a much better reading month than me!

    TheDonkeyInvasion – A Bookish Blog! | Thirteen Review

Leave a Reply

