Book Review: Fans of the Impossible life by Kate Scelsa

fans of the impossible life

Fans of the Impossible Life

3 stars

Mira is starting over. Jeremy is discovering who he is. Sebby’s just trying to get by. Mira and Sebby have been friends for years and Jeremy is finding out just how perfectly he fits with them. Told in three different POVs, follow the three friends as they navigate high school, life, and relationships.

This is one of those kinds of books I find hard to review because it feels like anything could be a potential give-away and there were so many parts I liked while also being a lot of parts that didn’t work for me.

To start, I really liked the premise. These characters sounded really complex and like they would have interesting relationships with each other. Also that there was a huge opportunity to get my heart broken. All that ended up being true. They were teenagers trying to handle the rough circumstances life had thrown at them, sometimes with help but sometimes alone, and I thought it was pretty realistic. There were times I wanted to cheer the adults in these kids’ lives, and other times I wanted to scream at them to pay attention.

I also liked that each main character had their own problems they had to deal with or overcome for growth. There were times when the friendship between them didn’t feel completely healthy, but it always felt necessary. These three needed each other.

The different styles for the POVs threw me off every time it switched characters. Each character had a different tense for the POV so with each switch, there wasn’t a flowing feeling into the next. It kept me from getting completely drawn into the story. Other than the POV issue, I did enjoy the writing.

I don’t want to say too much more because I don’t want to give anything away. Overall, the characters were great and the story was good but the POV switching made it hard to read and fully enjoy.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

4 Comments

Filed under books, reviews, ya books

4 responses to “Book Review: Fans of the Impossible life by Kate Scelsa

  1. POV switching is such a trap, it’s so hard to do well.

  2. Oh gosh! There’s quite a few that I agree with and some I’ve never heard before! Such a good list though:) I decided to nominate you for the One Lovely Blog Award! So congrats, hope you get a chance to do it ! http://originalbooker.blogspot.co.uk/2015/09/one-lovely-blog-award.html

  3. Definitely just posted that comment on the wrong post hahah woops!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

