Comparing Before and After: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

dumplin

I chose this for my WoW pick(hosted by Breaking the Spine) back on July 17th 2015. Not too long ago. Back then, I was excited for:

“It sounds like it could be a good positive body image type of book. There are parts that make me nervous. Does she try to change her body for a boy? Will there be shaming of the skinny girls by the main character? But I’m hopeful that this will turn out to be a great, positive, feel good about yourself, type of read.”

After reading and posting a review, I was very happy with the way the book turned out. I loved the characters, I loved Will’s story arc, and I loved that the romance wasn’t the main focus of the book. I thought there were a lot of good messages throughout the story and I loved the friendship and Dolly Parton influence.

Leave a comment

Filed under books, comparing before and after, ya books

Leave a Reply

