August Wrap-up/September TBR

There’s so many books out this month that I have no idea how I’m going to choose which ones to read now and which ones can wait until later, because October is pretty packed with great releases as well. Even reading a book a day makes me feel like I’ll never catch up!

August Wrap-up:

one plus one One Plus One – Jojo Moyes. 3.5/5 stars. I didn’t enjoy this one as much as Me Before You but it was still good. The same quirky style was present along with characters that were easy to like.

vow Lenobia’s Vow – PC/Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. A good novella in the series.

because you'll never meet me Because You’ll Never Meet Me – Leah Thomas. Review coming. 3.5/5 stars. It took me a while to get into this one with its letter story-telling format but once I did, I really enjoyed it.

dumplin Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy. Review. 4/5 stars. I liked this one a lot more than Side Effects May Vary.

vanishing girls Vanishing Girls – Lauren Oliver. Review may be coming. 3.5/5 stars. It was good but there always seems to be a disconnect between me and Lauren Oliver books for some reason. I have a hard time getting fully absorbed into them.

awakened Awakened – PC/Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. It’s a good series but I’m finding nothing too surprising about it.

steelheart big Steelheart – Brandon Sanderson. 4/5 stars. Why did I put this one off for so long? It was action-packed, I really liked the characters, and I can’t wait to see what happens next.

neferet;s curse Neferet’s Curse – PC/Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. Another novella in the series. Good addition.

rest of us just live here The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness. 4/5 stars. Review coming. This one took me a few chapters to get into but once I got into the way it was formatted, I thought it was cool and had some great characters.

hello i love you Hello, I Love You – Katie M Stout. Review. 2/5 stars. I was maybe expecting too much when it was compared to Anna and the French Kiss but it really fell flat.

kalona;s Kalona’s Fall – PC/Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. Another novella! There was a few of them this month.

destined Destined – PC/Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. Getting closer to the end of the series. Still no huge surprises.

sanctum Sanctum – Madeleine Roux. 4/5 stars. Creepy. This one had a few surprises. I have a love/hate relationship with books that make me chant ‘please don’t die’ at my favourite characters.

hidden Hidden – PC/Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. My goal was to finish this series by the end of the month. I almost made it.

entwined Entwined – Heather Dixon. 3.5/5 stars. I did enjoy it but it wasn’t my favourite retelling. There were some slow parts that took me out of the story.

vengeance road Vengeance Road – Erin Bowman. Review. 5/5 stars! Umm perfection? I love westerns, I make no apologies for that. This was a western.

blue bloods Blue Bloods – Melissa De La Cruz. 3.5/5 stars. I think I’m going to like this take on vampires. I enjoyed the first book at least.

hello goodbye Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between – Jennifer E Smith. Review. 4/5 stars. It was cute and I really liked all the interactions between the characters. Very bittersweet about growing up and leaving home.

masquerade Masquerade – Melissa De La Cruz. 3.5/5 stars. Another book in the series and I enjoyed it just as much as the first. This is a good sign.

truest Truest – Jackie Lea Sommers. Review. 4/5 stars. The characters and all the issues they were dealing with made up for the slight cheating that I was worried about going into this book.

revelations Revelations – Melissa De La Cruz. 3/5 stars. My least favourite of the series so far. Found this one a little slow but it was still good.

ash and bramble Ash and Bramble – Sarah Prineas. Review coming. 3.5/5 stars. I really liked the spin and how dark it was. There were times when it felt a bit slow and long.

van allen The Van Allen Legacy – Melissa De La Cruz. 3.5/5 stars. The first book in the series is still my favourite but this one gave it a run. This one’s my favourite cover of them all so far.

not after everything Not After Everything – Michelle Levy. Review. 4.5/5 stars. It was gritty and real and it made me hurt so much while reading it.

boys most likely to The Boy Most Likely To – Huntley Fitzpatrick. Review coming. 4.5/5 stars. If anyone tries to tell me Tim Mason doesn’t exist, you are obviously lying.

fans of the impossible life Fans of the Impossible Life – Kate Scesla. Review coming. 3.5/5 stars. This book made me rage at some of the adults and want to cheer others. The three different formats of the POVs was a little off-putting.

revealed Revealed – PC/Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. Not my favourite of the series. Though it could be I’m not meant to be binge reading since by now, it feels like more of the same. I might enjoy it more outside of a binge read.

walk on earth a stranger Walk on Earth a Stranger – Rae Carson. Review coming. 4.5/5 stars. I love Rae Carson and this book just added to the reasons.

keys Keys to the Repository – Melissa De La Cruz. 3/5 stars. A novella in the series. It was good and an easy read.

misguided angel Misguided Angel – Melissa De La Cruz. 3.5/5 stars. I think this one just won favourite honours, right after the first in the series. That one is still in the lead.

unsouled Unsouled – Neal Shusterman. 4/5 stars. This is another series that has me chanting ‘please don’t die’ to characters. I love all the different POVs we get in the series that give insight into so many characters besides the main three.

September TBR:

what we sawcharmedpillars of ponderaylegacy of kingsmadness so discreet

6 Comments

Filed under books, favorite book, MG books, reading recap, TBR books, wrapup, ya books

6 responses to “August Wrap-up/September TBR

  1. Yvo

    Wow, you were able to read a lot of books in August! Most of these titles above are on my TBR as well…

  2. Oh my gosh, you read some awesome books this month! I can’t wait for Dumplin! I just started Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson so I am excited to read that 🙂

    August 2015 Recap || September TBR! | Princessica of Books
    https://princessicaofbooks.wordpress.com/2015/09/01/august-2015-recap/

  3. I’m so jealous! You read a lot of amazing books that I can’t wait to get my hands on! Wish September brings you all the best! 🙂

Leave a Reply

