Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week is Top Ten fairy tales I’ve read/on TBR.

Read:

10. summer mermaids The Summer of Chasing Mermaids – Sarah Ockler. A great contemporary retelling of The Little Mermaid. It was cute and fun to see how the characters were incorporated into such a different world.

9. cinder The Lunar Chronicles – Marissa Meyer. I’ve only read the first two so far but they’re such unique twists on the fairy tales.

8. iron king big The Iron Fey Series – Julie Kagawa. Maybe not fairy tale retelling but it has characters from a Shakespeare play and it involves the fae.

7. crimon bound Crimson Bound – Rosamund Hodge. This was a very interesting retelling and grabbed me right from the start.

6. swan The Silent Swan – Lex Keating. Another contemporary retelling, this time of The Six Swans. I fell in love with characters and their families. I laughed, I cried, and I really wanted to play baseball with them.

TBR:

5. ash and bramble Ash and Bramble – Sarah Prineas. I love when the heroines to save themselves.

4. shadow queen The Shadow Queen – CJ Redwine. I’ve been excited about this one for a while. It looks fantastic.

3. great hunt The Great Hunt – Wendy Higgins. This seems like a huge win for me. I love Wendy Higgins. I love retellings. I love when the retelling is of a lesser known fairy tale. A retelling of The Singing Bone seems perfect.

2. mechanica Mechanica – Betsy Cornwell. I’ve had my eye on this one for a while. The cover caught my eye but the synopsis was what really sold me. It comes out this month.

1. the forbidden wish The Forbidden Wish – Jessica Khoury. An Aladdin retelling. The cover is so pretty and I can’t wait to see what twists await.

14 Comments

Filed under books, favorite book, TBR books, top ten, ya books

14 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Fun list! I just added three to my TBR list; thank you!

  2. So many of these I haven’t heard of but they sound fantastic! Especially the ones that bring the fairy tale to a modern setting. Great list!

    http://hiddenstaircase.net/2015/08/04/ttt-ten-fairy-tale-retellings/

  3. I need to check The Forbidden Wish – had not heard of it before. My TTT list

  4. Cinder and Crimson Bound are two of my favorites. Ash & Bramble was pretty good. The world building was great, and I loved the heroine. It got a little slow in the middle, but finished really strong.

  5. Justin941

    I have Ash and Bramble on my Kindle, but I will be reading it very soon so I didn’t wait to add it to my list! We do have a few similarities with our lists but all of mine are books I still need to read…

    Here is my TTT

    Justin @ Justin’s Book Blog

  6. bftreviews

    I never thought of The Iron King. Great job 🙂
    My TTT

  7. These look amazing. I love the fairtale retellings. Ash and Bramble is definelty on my wish list. I recently read The Ugly step sister and it was great 🙂

Leave a Reply

