Book Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

finding audrey

Finding Audrey

3 stars

Sophie Kinsella’s YA debut, Finding Audrey is the story of Audrey, a fourteen year old living with an anxiety disorder. Her recovery progress has been slow but it’s been happening. When she meets Linus, a gaming teammate of her brother’s, she feels more alive than she has in months. She can talk to him in a way she can’t with anyone else and she finds herself pushing outside her comfort zone to prove that she’s getting better. But is she going too fast and pushing too hard?

This was my first Sophie Kinsella book so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect going in. I was familiar with her adult books but had never actually read one. I found myself enjoying the blend of humorous and serious moments and the way a manuscript was incorporated as Audrey filmed her family.

The family aspect ended up being my favourite thing about the book. They all just worked together as a family unit, even with all their over-the-top dramatic moments and their dysfunction. At the end of the day, they were a family and that was all that mattered. I liked the way they interacted with each other and struggled to communicate and it all just ended up feeling like very familiar family moments.

I liked Audrey and I felt for her as she was describing her anxiety and how she struggled. I do wish the book had been longer so we’d gotten more of her recovery and the whole process. With it being so short, it felt like there was a lot of focus on Linus and other issues and sometimes Audrey and her anxiety were a background plot. I liked that she pushed back against her parents and her therapist, even though I knew it was bad for her, it felt like a realistic thing for a teenager to do when they think they know better than the adults.

Audrey and Linus were cute together. I thought he was good for her and he fit in well with the whole family. Again, the shortness of the book meant less time to develop their relationship but the author made it work.

The book kept things quite light, which I found made it a fast read. There was never that heavy feeling in my chest that I’ve gotten from reading other books that dealt with anxiety. The only times I had to pause to collect myself were from laughter. It would be a good book for someone looking to read about anxiety without a lot of darkness surrounding it. It was definitely a lighter take on it.

3 Comments

Filed under books, reviews, ya books

3 responses to “Book Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Ooh I’m really excited about this book actually! Sorry that you didn’t enjoy it more. xx J

  2. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

