July Wrap-Up/August TBR

So far the summer seems to be alternating between colder than normal temperature with rain and extreme mugginess that makes it impossible to sleep. Not so good for pool days or tanning but great for reading.

July Wrap-Up:

taken by storm Taken By Storm – Jennifer Lynn Barnes. 3/5 stars. Enjoyable series but the characters didn’t completely grab me. I did like the writing so I’m excited to see her new book.

never always sometimes Never Always Sometimes – Adi Alsaid. Review. 4/5 stars. I did prefer the characters in Let’s Get Lost but I did like the quirkiness and the way he chose to tell the story.

every last word Every Last Word – Tamara Ireland Stone. Review. 4.5/5 stars. This book was so good. I fell in love with it.

chosen at nightfall Chosen at Nightfall – CC Hunter. 4/5 stars. The main series is over:( It’s been such a great reading experience with characters I really liked.

marked Marked – PC and Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. I’ve own this series for a while but never read it so I decided it was time this month. It’s good so far but not grabbing me like other paranormal series have.

saint anything Saint Anything – Sarah Dessen. Review. 4/5 stars. Loved the characters and whose POV she chose to write from. It gave a unique perspective.

betrayed Betrayed – PC and Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. Still good but not grabbing me. This one did grab me a bit more than the first book.

daughter of the deep Daughter of Deep Silence – Carrie Ryan. Review. 3/5 stars. The whole premise was interesting but I had problems with the plot.

chosen Chosen – PC and Kristin Cast. 3.5/5 stars. This was probably my favourite of the ones I’ve read so far. I lost myself in this one more and started to care about the characters.

get dirty Get Dirty – Gretchen McNeil. Review. 4/5 stars. I enjoyed this conclusion more than the beginning, just by a little. More characters meant the dynamics of the group changed so there were some interesting interactions.

untamed Untamed – PC and Kristin Cast. 3.5/5 stars. Some of the books in this series might need to be a re-read to fully appreciate them. They seem to be a go-to right now on muggy nights and sometimes it’s hard to concentrate.

court of thrones and roses A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J Maas. 4/5 stars. Enjoyed it but went in with really high expectations based on Throne of Glass and didn’t quite meet them.

hunted Hunted – PC and Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. Another good addition to the series.

how not to fall in love How (not) to Fall in Love – Lisa Brown Roberts. Review. 3.5/5 stars. Really cute and light read. Great for poolside or beach reading.

leveller The Leveller – Julia Durango. 3/5 stars. Review coming. Really interesting concept. Got lost a few times in trying to understand the tech and world.

tempted Tempted – PC and Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. Still enjoying the series.

burned HON Burned – PC and Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. I did mention I was reading this series a lot, right?

tiny pretty things Tiny Pretty Things – Sona Charaipotra/Dhonielle Clayton. Review. 4/5 stars. Loved the ballet aspect. Did wish there was more female friendship.

dragon oath Dragon’s Oath – PC and Kristin Cast. 3/5 stars. Have to read the short stories in a series too.

enclave Enclave – Ann Aguirre. 3/5 stars. Enjoyable. I think I expected to be more scared considered the synopsis but it was a good read.

outpost Outpost – Ann Aguirre. 3.5/5 stars. Still enjoyable. Glad I finally got around to reading this series. It’s been sitting on my shelf for too long.

finding audrey Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella. Review coming. 3/5 stars. First Sophie Kinsella book and I enjoyed it. There were a few over the top moments but overall, I liked Audrey and there were great character interactions.

horde Horde- Ann Aguirre. 3.5/5 stars. Really good conclusion though it felt long at times, especially when compared to how short the other books were.

chasing impossible Chasing Impossible – Katie McGarry. Review coming. 4.5/5 stars. I love these characters and it was great to see so many of them from the series present in this book. Both Logan and Abby were very complicated characters.

fondation Foundation – Ann Aguirre. 3/5 stars. A very short read.

vortex 2 Vortex – SJ Kincaid. 4/5 stars. Didn’t feel like a middle book, which was nice. I like that even though it’s very high-tech, I can understand the terms to follow along.

endurance Endurance – Ann Aguirre. 3/5 stars. Another short story.

between us and the moon Between Us and the Moon – Rebecca Maizel. Review coming. 3.5/5 stars. It was a cute story about a girl finding herself and I loved all the astronomy involved in her life.

what you left behind What You Left Behind – Jessica Verdi. Review coming. 3.5/5 stars. It was good and I teared up a few times but I think I expected to be sobbing and I wasn’t. Still, a very good story about grief and forgiveness.

restoration Restoration – Ann Aguirre. 3/5 stars. Another short story and now I think the series is complete.

August TBR:

one plus onerest of us just live herevengeance roadbecause you'll never meet mesteelheart big

8 Comments

Filed under adult book, books, reading recap, TBR books, ya books

8 responses to “July Wrap-Up/August TBR

  1. Yvo

    Wow, you were able to read an impressive amount of books! A lot of these are on my TBR as well…

  2. Wow that’s a lot of books! How did you do that? Lol Wish August is great month for you 🙂

  3. I hope you enjoy Because You’ll Never Meet Me! I think it may be one of my favourite books of 2015.

  4. aentee @ read at midnight

    Wow that’s an impressive amount of read books! I just finished Steelheart and absolutely loved it. Have fun with all your books this month!

Leave a Reply

