Book Review: Get Dirty by Gretchen McNeil

get dirty

Get Dirty

4 stars

The follow-up and conclusion to the Don’t Get Mad duology picks up where Get Even ended, with Margot in a coma and Bree in juvie after taking the fall for the group. It’s up to Kitty and Olivia, with help from Ed the Head, to catch the true murderer before he or she strikes again.

I really enjoyed the first book, Get Even, and I was happy to learn it would be a duology. At first I wondered if all the loose ends from the first book would be able to be wrapped up in just one more book, but with all the action happening, everything wrapped up that needed to be wrapped up.

The secret friendship of the four girls continued to be a highlight for me in the sequel. They’re all so different and bring different strengths to the group. I liked the way they would interact with each other, support each other, and with the group being separated this time, it added new dynamics to the plot. There were moment with each girl when I thought they were my favourite character but really, I just liked them all. They all had personal things they had to deal with as well as the mystery of finding out who was setting them up for murder.

The plot, the mystery, the murder, was intense and fun to read. It had suspense, twists, romance, everything that I needed to keep me turning the pages to find out if my theories on the killer were right. It was one of those times when I wanted to be right about the killer’s identity more than I wanted to be surprised and I was happy to have figured it out.

I liked the addition of the guys into the group. They added a lot of humour and a dynamic that was fun to read. They also specialized in areas the girls were weaker in so they added value in that aspect as well. It was great that none of them were crack teen detectives who never made mistakes and assumptions. They were good at investigating but the mistakes they made were realistic.

A fun, fast-paced duology that was entertaining to read.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

3 Comments

Filed under books, reviews, ya books

3 responses to “Book Review: Get Dirty by Gretchen McNeil

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to let you know I nominated you for The Blogger Recognition Award. Feel free to check it out: https://loveandotherbookishthings.wordpress.com/2015/07/21/blogger-recognition-award/

  2. Pingback: Weekly Reading Recap | Overflowing Bookshelves

  3. Pingback: July Wrap-Up/August TBR | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

