Book Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

ps i still love you

P.S. I Still Love You

4 stars

Adjusting to real dating after fake dating is a harder change than both Lara Jean and Peter expected. With old friends returning and old enemies too present in their relationship, Lara Jean finds herself questioning her future with Peter – and her feelings for letter recipient John Ambrose. Is she in love with both of them? Is she in love with either of them?

This book was just as fun and cute to read as the first book. It had the same lightness as To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before while feeling a bit more mature. It was also, like the first, an easy read that I really enjoyed.

Lara Jean was plagued by insecurities and confusion through this book that I found to be understandable. She was innocent and seemed young for her age, which I came to like through both books. She felt more like I felt as a teenager, young, not ready, confused, impressionable. I liked that she learned to stand up for herself and could admit when she was wrong. She continued to have interesting dynamics with all the other characters, old and new.

I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the growing friendship between Lara Jean and John Ambrose. There was an easiness with them that was endearing and fun and they had so many childhood memories together. Lara Jean and Peter were still cute together but I liked seeing them having to face some issues now that they were an official couple. The dynamic between Lara Jean and her sisters, just like in the last book, was one of my favourite things. It was just so familiar, having three sisters of my own.

I was worried about the possible love triangle overtaking the story but, it turned out, I actually enjoyed the way it played out. It didn’t feel like a love triangle so much as a girl trying to determine her feelings for the boys. Friendship? Like? Love? I thought it was very believable that she would be confused between them.

I did prefer the first book slightly more. The fake dating aspect was just so much fun to read but this one definitely had a lot of great moments to make it an enjoyable book to read.

4 Comments

Filed under books

4 responses to “Book Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

  1. Casey

    This book for me, was a slight disappointment. I didn’t like how there were so many things left open and how there was a very brief arch in the plot. I also felt like it was kind of pointless? We ended up at the same place as we started.

    • I can see why it might be a bit of a disappointment for some people. The simplicity of it was a big part of the reason I enjoyed it but anyone who was expecting it to be more complicated or full of drama could definitely find it a little uneventful.

      • Casey

        I don’t know… I loved To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before! It’s probably one of my favorites that I’ve read this year! I just wish there was another book or something…

      • She left the option open for more if she wants to. There’s lots of ideas out there to keep up the letter-theme too.

Leave a Reply

