Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week is top ten inspirational quotes.

10. goodbye The Last Time We Say Goodbye – Cynthia Hand. “But if we believe that love is this powerful force that binds us together, and if this belief brings us happiness and stability in this tumultuous world, then what’s the harm?” Sometimes you need to take shelter in the arms of someone who loves you and whom you love, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

9. faking normal Faking Normal – Courtney C Stevens. “Every song deserves lyrics. Deserves a story to tell.” I love this quote because it’s so true, especially about people. Everyone deserves a chance to tell their story.

8. all the bright places All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven. “I learned that there is good in this world, if you look hard enough for it. I learned that not everyone is disappointing, including me, and that a 1,257 bump in the ground can feel higher than a bell tower if you’re standing next to the right person.” This one is simple but powerful in all its truth-telling.

7. let's get lost big Let’s Get Lost – Adi Alsaid. “What if she was supposed to be a painter, but no one ever gave her a brush?” What if is so right. There’s so many people in this world who could make a huge difference if they had just that little bit of help to get them started.

6. goblet of fir big Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – JK Rowling. “If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.” I don’t think there will ever be a time when this one isn’t true. It’s easy to treat your superiors and equals well because you need them to move ahead, but when someone treats the people under him well, it says so much about him.

5. little women Little Women – Louisa May Alcott. “I am not afraid of storms, for I am learning how to sail my ship.” This is a quote that has stayed with me since I first read this book.

4. fellowship Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien. “It’s the job that’s never started as takes longest to finish.” And the longer you put it off, the more you’ll hate it when you finally do it.

3. wrong side of right The Wrong Side of Right – Jenn Marie Thorne. “It’s amazing how much one person can change the world, even if they don’t know they’re doing it.” I love this one because there’s so many things you might do in the course of the day that can have an effect on someone and you’d never know it.

2. snow like ashes Snow Like Ashes – Sara Raasch. “No matter what happens, no matter who turns on me, no matter what pompous swine thinks he has power over me, I am still me. I will always be me.” This is one so powerful.

1. rites of passage Rites of Passage – Joy N Hensley. “You are not a drop in the ocean. You are an ocean in a drop.” Sometimes you just need to hear something that makes you feel unique and special.

10 Comments

Filed under book quotes, books, favorite book, top ten, ya books

10 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. What lovely quotes! 🙂 I adore so many of the books you’ve mentioned and want to read the rest that I haven’t read yet! 😀

  2. Nice picks! J.K. Rowling has been a popular choice for this week’s topic (no surprise). I just bought Faking Normal, so I can’t wait to pick that up (maybe I’ll even recognize the quote you chose when I read it).

  3. all the bright places ❤ im still living in its world haha great selection of quotes 😀

  4. bendingoverbookwards

    Ahhh that LOTR quote just made me feel intensely guilty for my procrastination. Great list! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

