Book Talk: Wording in Reviews

I confess, sometimes I feel like I need to move my thesaurus to my desk by my computer instead of leaving it on the living bookcase with all the similar books, the dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlas, etc. This is because I know I am completely guilty of using the same words and wording over and over again when I write my reviews.

Concept, interesting, definitely, intriguing, these are probably my most used ones, or at least the ones I’ve noticed. Concept doesn’t bother me too much. I put that on the same level as using growth, it’s almost unavoidable when talking about the overall idea of the book. Most of the time, besides the cover, it is the concept that has me bringing the book to the cash, paying for it, and bringing it home. Where it then sits on my shelf for way too long before I actually get around to reading it, amazing concept or not.

The other three words are ones that could easily be replaced or omitted with I brought up my thesaurus. Interesting and intriguing are already similar and, most of the time, could be interchanged. I could also use compelling, enthralling, captivating, fascinating, thought-provoking, gripping, so many other options. So why do I keep coming back to using just those two? And definitely, again, so many other words. Absolutely, certainly, surely, positively. I have options. I just don’t use them.

My main theory behind this is pretty simple: I like to write like I talk. I don’t have a thesaurus next to me at all times, looking up words in the middle of conversations, so I don’t overuse certain words. I just speak and words come out naturally. Just like when I write my review. I type and the words appear. I want my reviews to sounds like me and not like I looked up every second word in a thesaurus. If that means I overuse definitely and interesting and intriguing a lot, so be it. I can deal with that.

1 Comment

Filed under books, talking books, ya books

One response to “Book Talk: Wording in Reviews

  1. I do the exact same thing! I always end up wondering, could I use a different word for this? Do I want too? Probably not. . . Even if it may make it sound stronger as a whole it just doesn’t sound like myself.

Leave a Reply

