March Wrap-Up/April TBR

It’s April! Where is the time going? At least this should mean the end for snowstorms *fingers crossed*. There were some really great books this month but also a lot of just okay/decent books.

March Wrap-Up:

ruby circle The Ruby Circle – Richelle Mead. 4/5 stars. I’m so sad this series is over. It was a great final book and I thought Richelle Mead did a great job balancing the need for us to love these character in the spin-off and us wanting to know about the characters we loved from Vampire Academy.

radiant sky big A Radiant Sky – Jocelyn Davies. 3/5 stars. It was a good series overall but it didn’t capture my attention the way my favourite series have.

Lies I told Lies I Told – Michelle Zink. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I really felt for the main character and her brother but was bothered by the insta-love.

taken at duck Taken At Dusk – CC Hunter. 3/5 stars. So far this is my least favourite of the series but it was still good. The love triangle was getting to me more in this one than it did in the first books.

liars inc Liars, Inc – Paula Stokes. 4/5 stars. Review. So many twists and turns in this book.

unmade Unmade – Sarah Rees Brennan. 4/5 stars. Review. Such a great finale for a great series.

wither Wither – Lauren DeStefano. 3/5 stars. Another series that was decent and fast to read but didn’t grab me the way others have.

simon homo sapiens Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Becky Abertalli. 4.5/5 stars. Review. This book was so funny and had great relationships.

one of the guys One of the Guys – Lisa Aldin. 3/5 stars. Review. It was cute and the bonding was nice but I did have a few problems with it.

fever Fever – Lauren DeStefano. 3/5 stars. My feelings are still the same as the first book.

thorn and sinking stone The Thorn and the Sinking Stone – CJ Dushinski. 3/5 stars.Review coming. I really liked the concept and the main characters but the world-building had some issues.

sever Sever – Lauren DeStefano. 3.5/5 stars. This one ended up being my favourite of the three.

shutter Shutter – Courtney Alameda. 4/5 stars. Review. Can a book be both fun and terrifying? Because this one was.

tempest Tempest – Julie Cross. 3/5 stars. Another series, yet again, that was good but didn’t blow me away.

solitaire Solitaire – Alice Oseman. 3/5 stars. Review. The characters were great but I found the whole Solitaire mystery lacking in actual mystery.

finding paris Finding Paris – Joy Preble. 3/5 stars. Review. Had a great sisterly bond but major bad decisions and insta-love.

unwholly Unwholly – Neal Shusterman. 4/5 stars. I am so loving this series. It’s creepy and disturbing with great characters and it feels like the kind of series that keeps one-upping its last effort.

jkt_9780545810623.pdf The Sin Eater’s Daughter – Melinda Salisbury. 3/5 stars. Review. It was such a great concept and I really liked the history of the world but the main character didn’t do much for herself and, sadly, there was insta-love.

iron trial The Iron Trials – Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. 3.5/5 stars. Very solid and fun first book for a series.

vortex Vortex – Julie Cross. 3.5/5 stars. I liked this one a little more than the first but it still didn’t blow me away.

timestorm big Timestorm – Julie Cross. 3/5 stars. Same as the rest of the series. Good but didn’t blow me away.

Invincible_tagline_final.indd Invincible – Amy Reed. 3/5 stars. Review. It was such a great concept but there was insta-love and so many bad decisions.

prom Prom Nights from Hell – Anthology. 3/5 stars. I’ve read the rest of the ‘From Hell’ series so figured why not finish it up.

me and mom Mom and Me and Mom – Maya Angelou. 3.5/5 stars. Such an interesting woman and an interesting relationship between her and her mother.

queen of the tearling The Queen of the Tearling – Erika Johansen. 4/5 stars. I really liked the main character and the world that was created. Excited that the sequel is out soon.

racing savannah Racing Savannah – Miranda Kenneally. 3.5/5 stars. I really like the Hundred Oaks series. They’re a bit predictable but the romance is sweet and they’re a quick read.

wrong side of right The Wrong Side of Right  – Jenn Marie Thorne. 5/5 stars! Review. Love, love, love. For me, it was so perfect.

power of six The Power of Six – Pittacus Lore. 3/5 stars. It’s been so long since I read I Am Number Four that it took me a while to get into this world again. But once I did, I enjoyed it.

my best everything My Best Everything – Sarah Tomp. 3/5 stars. Review coming. It took a little bit to get used to the writing style but the main character’s downward spiral was believable even if the whole teenage moonshine business was a little out there.

sea of shadows big Sea of Shadows – Kelley Armstrong. 3/5 stars. Not my favourite by her but has the potential to be a really good series.

glass arrow The Glass Arrow – Kirsten Simmons. 2/5 stars. I had some major world-building issues and it felt like not much ever really happened.

April TBR:

under a painted skythe cageafterlightorphan queensummer i found you

7 Comments

Filed under books, favorite book, reading recap, TBR books, wrapup, ya books

7 responses to “March Wrap-Up/April TBR

  1. Did I just count that right??? 31 books in a month?? As in 1 book a day for 31 days?? That’s crazy!!!! Crazy awesome! 😀

  2. Sea of Shadows is Definitely on my TBR and Queen of the Tearling the length scares me a bit with the second though.

Leave a Reply

